Yarn Movie Project

Jeffrey Krause
Applaudience
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2016

--

I see an awful lot of Yarns

I see streams of them associated with videos, coming from user generated content (UGC), from corporate content, or from our web crawler. I’ve spent countless hours developing algorithms for parsing phrases, routines for clipping content, and honing search techniques. Yarns here, Yarns there, they’re everywhere.

Often I get lost down Yarn paths. I see something of interest, it can be something visually intriguing, like a thumbnail.

Roman Holiday (1953)

Or an unusual transcript.

Listen To My Jazz, Get Myself Juiced Up, Then Go About My Business. — Mighty Boosh

Or something old, and unexpected, that makes me reminisce.

It’s easy to get lost following these threads. Sometimes I have conversations with myself. I’ll click on a Yarn, in this case it’s Han Solo saying: “It’s not my fault”.

I’ll think, yea, it probably is Solo...I do another Yarn search: “Yes it is”. It’s Leo, from Inception. And my internal dialog continues…

This next Yarn collection is a series of stream-of-consciousness-clip-searches. I find something, think of a possible reply or next line, and repeat. They are then stitched together into a movie. It’s the first in hopefully a series of user generated mashups with the illustrious title of “The Yarn Movie Project”.

This movie is called Fin de siècle. It’s 1 minute. And, yea, don’t get your hopes up.

Let me know if you want to make your own mashup, I can help, or at least point you in the right direction.

If you enjoyed this post, please click that little green heart below. Or send a response. Merci.

--

--

Jeffrey Krause
Applaudience

Currently making Yarn: https://yarn.co/, deep search in video, entrepreneur, digital product design, developer, generative design