Sonny Bohanan
Applaudience
Published in
1 min readJul 8, 2016

--

You’re right, Jennifer Brown , that was pretty awesome when Kurt Russell said, “NOOOOOO!” in Slo-Mo and then somehow outdrew the dude who was about to kill him. And through the miracle of interwebs I didn’t even need the TV that my son stole from my living room to put into his bedroom.

So when Doc Holliday said, “I’m your huckleberry,” that was kind of like saying, “Hell, yeah, I’m your boy!” or “I’ll take that bet, Junior”?

I’m sorry to be such a huge disappointment in the TV department, Jennifer. It’s terribly sad when a man won’t keep social contracts and just sort of fades away into nothing, a specter who’s never seen one moment of Game of Thrones, The Wire, or any show that has Vampires or Zombies, except that one with a cameo by Bill Murray, who hides in his house and pretends to be a zombie, and one of the main characters totally falls for it and shoots him in the face. I think it was called Zombieland, and it was actually pretty smart.

So, what was I saying? Oh yeah, we were talking about huckleberry, and I just wanted to say thanks again for being my huckleberry. I once had a boss who said I talked like Huckleberry Hound. She was from Chicago, actually Gary, Indiana, home of the Jackson Five and, briefly, me, when I was about 4 years old. Yeah, I felt like it was a bit of a reduction to say my Texas accent sounded as bad as Huckleberry Hound. That hurt, is all I’m saying.

--

--