Finding the Best Note-Taking App That Supports Markdown

Mad Machine
Apple Central
Published in
5 min readFeb 20, 2022

--

As a developer and DevOps engineer, I need to keep notes of all my code snippets, experiments, research, and other activities.

Google could be used to find information on any subject, but having a personalized trove of notes is incredibly convenient for reference.

OneNote

I started my digital note-taking journey using Microsoft OneNote because it came with other Microsoft applications provided by my employer.

For me, the biggest drawback of OneNote was that the notebooks must be loaded into OneNote individually on all devices that need access to those notes. I would prefer that by opening the app, all my notes be available immediately. OneNote makes it incredibly inconvenient when switching devices.

Evernote

I moved to Evernote next, which I used for over a year.

At first, Evernote had all the features I wanted — easy access to all my notes on all devices, a fantastic web browser extension for saving web pages, and incredibly reliable and convenient. However, as I used more Markdown for my notes, I quickly discovered that Evernote lacks this handy feature. I looked online for any hint of that…

--

--

Mad Machine
Apple Central

I’m a DevOps engineer, but I love to tinker with all kinds of technologies.