Must-Have Utilities for MacOS

Mad Machine
Apple Central
Published in
6 min readApr 16, 2022

--

The most valuable utilities for macOS users.

Like any other operating system, macOS needs utilities to keep it running in top shape. Utilities can also extend or enhance the functionalities of the system.

Countless utilities exist for Macs, but the ones on this list are the gems. I always install them on every Mac I use.

Bartender

I tend to keep many apps running, which clutter the menu bar. There may be apps that I want to keep running, but I don’t want them to clutter the menu bar. Bartender can be configured to hide these apps from the menu bar until I activate the Bartender icon.

In the image below, you can see that I only have a few items configured to show on the menu bar. After clicking the Bartender icon, it shows the hidden apps.

Bartender has a free trial, but it costs $16 to purchase. It’s worth it, especially if you have a small screen or if you like to keep things nice and tidy.

CleanShot

--

--

Mad Machine
Apple Central

I’m a DevOps engineer, but I love to tinker with all kinds of technologies.