How the WWDC Swift Student Challenge Helped Me Rethink My Ideas and Use My Weakness as the Main Value Proposition of My Project

The icon for my app

When I decided to participate in the WWDC Swift Student Challenge, I was excited to take on a new challenge. While I had some experience in iOS development, I had never participated in a competition like this before, and I was eager to see what it was all about. So, I took a deep breath and dove right in. Little did I know that this challenge would help me rethink my ideas and use my weakness as the main value proposition of my project.

My project for the challenge was a game/interactive experience called “In a Sheet of Paper” (an adaptation of the popular Brazilian song “Aquarela” by Toquinho). The name comes from the fact that the game is a guided drawing experience that encourages reflection and appreciation of the things you’ve built and your personal history. When I first started working on the project, I quickly realized that I wasn’t as skilled in UI design as I thought. However, I didn’t let that stop me from pursuing my idea.

Instead of letting my weakness get the best of me, I decided to use it as the main value proposition of my project. I created an interface that was intentionally simple and minimalistic, and I let the users’ drawings be the main focus of the game. This not only allowed me to play to my strengths but also made the project unique and memorable.

An all black screen with some handwritten text at the bottom
This is the main interface of the game.

Participating in the WWDC Swift Student Challenge was an excellent experience for me. It pushed me out of my comfort zone and forced me to think creatively. I learned so much, shared experiences with other participants, and had a blast throughout the process. Most importantly, I realized that sometimes, our weaknesses can be our greatest strengths if we learn to use them to our advantage.

Overall, the WWDC Swift Student Challenge helped me rethink my ideas and taught me to embrace my weaknesses. It showed me that it’s okay to not be perfect and that sometimes, the best ideas come from our imperfections. If you’re considering participating in the challenge, I encourage you to take the leap and see where it takes you. You never know what you might learn or discover about yourself in the process.

And if you want to have this experience you can access the .zip file right here.

--

--