What is Masculinity ?

An ethnography on the social construct of masculinity.

Ariel Smith
applied intersectionality.
5 min readMar 8, 2017

--

I Googled “Masculine men” and these images were the first to come up:

While searching for the pictures I looked for photos of women in order to see how my study might differ if I included femininity. I noticed there was images that showed women expressing emotion, empowering one another/themselves. The pictures of the “manly men” did not allow for anything other than strength.

I would define masculinity as a social construct that limits people. Masculinity limits emotion to only anger or happiness. Masculinity is expected in males and detested in females.

Joane Nagel wrote ‘Masculinity and nationalism: gender and sexuality in the making of nations’,which is apart of her book Ethnic and Racial Studies, Ethnic and Racial Studies. This article breaks down the roles men and women are expected to follow for the betterment of the nation.

Nagel uses definitions and qualities of masculinity that others have written on. Mosse’s(1996) analysis of masculinity as ‘normative masculinity’. Normative masculinity includes the attributes of willpower, honour, courage, discipline, competitiveness, quiet strength, stoicism,sang-froid, persistence, adventurousness, independence, sexual virility,tempered with restraint, and dignity. All of the traits are deeply ingrained in Chuck Norris films, James Bond films, and Old Spice advertisements. Nagel borrows Rosenberg’s categories of these traits. They are broken down into three categories of the northern U.S middle class ideals of manhood:‘Masculine Achiever’ (competitiveness, independence, persistence),the ‘Christian Gentleman’ (willpower, restraint, discipline), and the ‘Masculine Primitive’ (strength, virility, courage). These traits are still really prevalent in films.The character of Tony Stark from the Iron Man films fits the role of the masculine achiever. The character of Steve Rodgers from the Captain America films fits the role of the Christian gentleman.The character Wolverine from the X-Men films fits the role of masculine primitive.

Nagel says the definition/traits of masculinity changes as time does so I decided to talk to my friends that identify in one way or another with the term “masculine” in an attempt to get a glimpse of what it currently means to be masculine. I talked to some of my male and female friends as well as a trans friend and his trans girlfriend. I got many responses,but I only included those that were most clear and concise.

Some the responses I received closely mirrored the list that Greta Christina compiled in her article 5 Stupid, Unfair and Sexist Things Expected of Men.

I asked “What is masculinity and when do you feel masculine, if ever?

Most of the answers related masculinity with the male gender. The definition listed above focused primarily on the make gender. So now I wonder does that mean masculinity is structurally and socially gendered?

Brendon(trans male): “It is hard to see myself as masculine because it depends heavily if I can pass as male,but society views men as these big, strong protectors and that don’t show emotion;because of that I don’t feel masculine. I am small, my voice is so high, and I am disabled so I get looked at like I need protecting. Even on days I try my hardest to pass as male people still call me Ma’am.

Jesse: “I would say maybe when you become that person who takes charge and does the role of a man. When do I feel it most?Mainly when I do something nice for a female like opening the door,pulling out a chair for them and paying for them. Stuff like that.

Adah: “I don’t usually feel masculine. I guess, just less feminine.”

Dakota(trans female): “masculinity is like being hairy and rough and sportys and liking guy stuff I guess. I avoid feeling masculine if I can but if I’m paying too much attention to my body and body hair I feel masculine.”

Marquez: “Being tough and brave. I am not a violent guy, but I think fighting is considered manly.”

Since Jesse mentioned the “role of a man” I decided to see what that meant and if my other interviewees felt the same about it. So I asked “What is the role of a man, if any.” Most of them replied with something surrounding there not being a role for any gender, just to be good people. Jesse was the only one who had an idea of what that role was.

Jesse: “To be respectful and responsible for themselves and their family in every need.”

In order to get a definition by comparison I asked the same question,but regarding femininity.

Jesse: “Doing what is out of the ordinary for a dude. Maybe I guess in other words gay. And ya like staying insanely clean and good looking kind of.”

Brendon: Equated femininity to female anatomy and traits he exhibits that he relates to femininity. ie. longer hair, breasts, high pitched voice.

Dakota: “ Femininity is being dainty and cute and pretty. I feel feminine when I do “girly” things like wearing skirts, panties, and hair bows, makeup. And being clean shaven!”

Adah: Adah related femininity with things that are seen as specifically for the female gender such as make up and menstruation.

Marquez: “When I either feel like crying or I actually cry.”

Marquez’s answer caught my attention because my younger brother says crying makes him feel weak. Every now and then he will say it makes him feel like a “bitch”. I had always thought by that he meant crying made him feel emotionally weak. I thought he meant he was not strong enough to control his emotions. Now I know he could mean that crying makes him feel like a woman,and by definition of comparison, not masculine.

What I learned from this study is that masculinity is gendered and can not coexist with femininity in the same body. They are separate and must stay separate. Nagel also found this to be true. It was a very strange experience to see how gendered it is. My view on masculinity (and femininity) is they are social constructs that really mean nothing and should not dictate how we view or see ourselves. I found it even more interesting that most of the interviewees did not think that there should be gender roles, but completely connected masculinity to gender and a role/traits .

--

--