Mindful Workspace Animated Video

Alyssa Gamboa
Applied Learning Theory
3 min readApr 5, 2021

IDT300x Week 5 Assignment: Develop a storyboard and animated video with closed captions.

Photo by Domenico Loia on Unsplash

Storyboard

I again created my storyboard using the GoodNotes app for iPad, as I did for my Week 4 Video assignment. This week I iterated on my storyboard template by adding in sections to define the Learning Objective(s) as well as to add notes on the desired visual aesthetic. I also used the left-hand column for more detailed voiceover notes rather than scene titles as I did in my previous storyboard.

GoodNotes let me write and sketch in the same place, and I can easily rearrange scenes using the freeform select function. I much prefer writing by hand when brainstorming because there is more flexibility for getting my ideas out of my head, but I also prefer a digital tool that allows for easy rearranging and modifying and that can be saved and shared between devices. Using GoodNotes on iPad with the Apple Pencil allows for all of those things and was a joy to use for this assignment!

Page 1 of 2 of Alyssa Gamboa’s 5 Tips for a Mindful Workspace Video Storyboard which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Alyssa Gamboa’s 5 Tips for a Mindful Workspace Video Storyboard is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Page 2 of 2 of Alyssa Gamboa’s 5 Tips for a Mindful Workspace Video Storyboard which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Alyssa Gamboa’s 5 Tips for a Mindful Workspace Video Storyboard is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Animated Video

I recorded the narration for the video in the Voice Recorder app for Windows, and added it to my video using iMovie. The video and background music were created using Biteable. Biteable does not allow more than one audio file per video, which is why I needed to add the voiceover in a separate application.

The instructional goal of this video is to provide learners with tips for working at a computer as a part of their mindfulness toolkit. The learner objective is to try out the tips provided in the video to discover which ones are beneficial and could be incorporated into their work habits.

*Note as of March 2024: Sometime after this post was originally written, I lost access to the YouTube account where my video was hosted as well as the Biteable account where the video was made, hence its omission from this post.

Digital Media Evaluation Checklist

Here is my checklist evaluation for my 5 Tips for a Mindful Workspace Video. This video directly supports a learning gap addressed by the mindfulness curriculum I have planned for the next course, IDT400x, and this is taken into account in its evaluation:

--

--