Eat my own dog food.

So I have built and amazing app to help people with their fundraising for running events, but I am not signed up for any running events! I am actually signed up to to Nice Ironman event at the beginning of June.

  • 2.4 mile swim
  • 112 mile bike ride (6000 ft of climbing)
  • 26.2 mile run

So I guess it is going to be the Nice Ironman Marathon! I have done an Ironman Distance event before in 2014 the Outlaw in Nottingham, I am officially an ‘Outlaw’. The marathon does not scare me it won’t be quick and it will hurt a lot. The challenge I have is getting through the bike course, as it is particualrly hilly about 6000 ft of climbing ! If I was doing the Outlaw in June I would be fine, my biking has came on leaps and bounds since 2014 but all that climbing is going to be a challenge.

I have been wanting to do something for charity for a long time, so now I need to pick a charity, there are so many worthwhile causes out there so I thought I should try to think if any had particularly touched me. Then I remembered back to my Mums last weeks and days, now over 12 years ago. We lost her to cancer and in those final weeks and days Macmillan nurses provided at home care for my mum and support for our family. Thinking back to this sad time brought tears to my eyes.

This also jogged the memory of running the marathon at the end of the Outlaw. There were some very dark places on the run and through it I would think of the strength my Mum showed in her final days and how much love she had for everyone around her.

So Macmillan Cancer Support and Nice Ironman marathon will be my dog food. It not going to be easy.

If you are following me on Twitter, then you will be seeing much more of these created by BoostMyFund. No cheating here I actually need to put in the miles. I only show my running miles here, so 100 miles on the bike and 2 miles of swimming in the week in addition to the running.

donate at https://www.justgiving.com/John-Mcmanus8 or Text MXGT83 £10 to 70070

--

--