My 100 Days at APX Accelerator — Part 1

Fahim Pour
APX Voices
Published in
6 min readMay 26, 2019

First, let me give you a backstory to prepare you for my 100 days learnings at APX. It all started 10 years ago when I was 19, I decided to take my first step towards becoming an entrepreneur by registering a company in London. I had an invalidated idea, no team, no experience and little idea about how things worked. So the naive me thought a company registration can put me on the map. This sense of naivety made me try many things, break most of them and experience failure; but most importantly learn a lot by doing things.

It’s okay, but learn from that.

I decided to study MSc Entrepreneurship at Royal Holloway University of London to up my game. During the year I developed the Royal Notes venture and won the Arora Awards for Enterprise at RHUL for 2012. Here’s a Facebook page and a Youtube video that still survives from those days. That was a sign of upward trajectory for me, a validation of how I was developing on a personal level. A couple of ventures later and my co-founder and I launched a social crowdfunding platform for expats, raising $500k in the space of 2 years for 47 micro projects across 17 countries in 4 continents, improving the lives of 5000 people globally with their health and education.

Power of Crowd Moves Things Fast

Coming from marketing and crowdsourcing backgrounds, we set our sight on crowdsourcing authentic word-of-mouth at scale with the aim of disrupting the digital economy. We had put a strong team in place to achieve this and we started building fast. I had no doubt we were into something, at the end of the day this was our bread and butter from the crowdfunding days.

Know your stuff

We joined Launch22 incubator in London to validate our idea and to build our MVP systematically. 3 months later and we had a private-beta version ready for testing. We then further tested our value proposition and the public version was out in September 2018. We experiences 30% WoW growth for 10 weeks during YC Startup School Program where we were mentored by the brilliant Teespring founder Walker Williams. His ideas and encouragements gave us further proof of being into something big.

We now had a good product and the early stage traction. But raising the pre-seed money wasn’t easy at all. For us getting into an accelerator was a must. I knew how important the value of a network was from my PhD studies in disruptive startups at Royal Holloway. Accelerators bring that to the table and are supposed to invest in early stage startups. We would only apply to those that were in our space, but we quickly realised most of them are not really early stage risk-takers. Most would say we were too early for them! What? Seriously? We had a team, a product and traction. It was disheartening to hear that as the only feedback as we knew that wasn’t true, and the worst thing was that we didn’t know whether that was our ethnic backgrounds, brexit or how competitive the UK market was. The most frustrating part was that people would hear your idea, say no and then give you no useful feedback in return.

Don’t just shake your head, I need your feedback.

I had seen startups raising millions based on an idea written on a napkin. We were turned down about 70 times by Accelerators, Angels and other so-called early stage investors. We decided we needed to look outside the country for funding as we were just 2 months away from being cashburnt. We simply couldn’t give up. So desiced to look across the pond in Europe.

I’m not going to lie, I was very close to losing hope towards the end, but I had good people around me in my family and on my team, all giving me energy, praying for me and encouraging me to continue as long as I could. In December 2018 I started looking at accelerators and early stage investors across Europe and soon came across this quote: “ Europe’s most ambitious early-stage VC”. Had I heard similar things before? Maybe, but the opportunity to receive investment from the largest digital publishing house in Europe, Axel Springer, was a no-brainer for us. So we applied for the program, suprisingly enough we got great feedback and things moved forward really fast. We received our offer of 50k EUR investment from APX and we were just over the moon. That was 5 weeks before being cashburnt.

And yes I’m a Liverpool fan, so we never give up

We moved to Berlin and everything else is history. I have seen, talked and engaged with many accelerators during my time researching and fundraising across Europe, the US and Asia, and I can honestly say that APX are the ones staying true to their promise of being the most ambitious early stage investors in Europe. I see teams joining the program every months from an idea stage to the later stages. The emphasis is truely on the founders and the space is so diverse and inclusive which was helpful for us as a team at Pukket as well.

The Learnings From The First 50 Days

Coming from an under-represented community I decided to record my learnings in the tech space for the future youth aspiring to have start a career in this space. I’ve been recording them on my twitter page www.twitter.com/fahim_pour

Day 1: The welcome day and the lifestyle

Day 2: Pitching

Day 3: Leadership

Day 4: The Problem

Day 5: Open up and Network

Day 6: The Culture

Day 7: Find Allies

Day 8: Scaling Organically

Day 9: Ratings, Users & Listings

Day 10: Track PPP

Day 11: Upselling

Day 12: Follow the Money

Day 13: Tools

Day 14: Combine Mentors’ Advice with Your Guts

Day 15: A/B Test Everything

Day 16: Usability Test

Day 17: Customer Journey

Day 18: CAC

Day 19: Stay Focused

Day 20: Be Yourself

Day 21: Net Negative Churn

Day 22: Advice and Investment

Day 23: B2B Sales

Day 24: One Liner

Day 25: Terms Sheet

Day 26: Sales Deck

Day 27: Pricing

Day 28: Speed of Growth

Day 29: Company Values

Day 30: Keep the Doors Open

Day 31: PR

Day 32: Revenue

Over here we ran a panel with top speakers in our space to put ourselves on the map:

Day 33: Sales Channels

Day 34: Sprints

Day 35: Runway

Day 36: Feature Development

Won a prize with the pitch getting polished:

Day 37: Story telling and pitching

Day 38: Client Demands in Marketing

Day 39: Negotiation

Day 40: Pitching to Clients

Day 41: Communication

Day 42: Learning vs. Outsourcing

Day 43: UX

Day 44: Fundraising

Day 45: Be Around the Best

Finally invited to a panel to represent my community, it was an honour:

Day 46: Legal

Day 47: Performance and Diversity

Day 48: Days Off and Off Days

Day 49: Family

Attracted attention from France and invited by TF1 for their marketing challenge:

Day 50: The Power of Positive Reviews

That’s it for the first 50 days of learnings.

To be continued…

--

--

Fahim Pour
APX Voices

Co-Founder & CEO at Elevista.ai | Ex-Digital Marketer & Crowdfunder | Interested in the intersection of Creator Economy & AI