Starting a Robot Journey by Coincidence #1

Alper Çelebioğlu
Aquamatis
Published in
3 min readJul 17, 2020

My path crossing with robotics has been one of the most spontaneous things that happened to me. I was at high school listening ordinary club presentations then a university student who participated at First Robotic Competition (FRC) before has got on stage and gave a presentation about a club that will be beginning this year and going to attend to FRC and different competitions in time after a nice presentation of the club. I said to myself I will be a part of this club but there were two ideas made me feel excited, first one was we were going to attend the competition at Silicon Valley Regional which turned out to be a mistake full of lessons and secondly allowing me to be creative as I wish while building the robot.

Shortly after the club attendance forms were sent and we had 3 choices, I have filled all of them with FRC club, but I was not accepted which was a downer for me but do to my breaking of the system I didn’t have a club to attend then PDR has communicated with me and tried to send me to a different club cause club had reached the limited number of students, after all, I didn’t accept to attend another club so PDR directed me to have a chat with one of our mentors who is our STEM teacher(Yunus Emre Çalık) after some questions he said he would be very glad if I have attended and by that moment my journey in the world of robotics has only been started but I already had my first lesson by insisting on my wishes I was granted the joy of what I wanted and giving form for my limitless imagination.

Then process develops on its own our team applied to an off-season event which is a must from my perspective cause off-season is the closest experience for FRC and experiencing it before a season event opens your mind and seeing of this world in ways you can’t by other occupations if I’m going to explain this with all details what better way to start it with kick-off an event allows teams to communicate and build lifelong friendships and networking between teams.

If we observe kick-off about technical guidance it will teach you every mechanical, electronic, software basics so when you are alone with your robot at your workshop you have the skills to do as you desire which also means a person which knows nothing about technology can apply to learn so if you are stepping back from these type of events there is no reason to do when the kick-off comes to the end the most exciting part begins game reveal your first reaction after the game reveal is probably going to be how am I going to build a machine that can do all these tasks my advice is don’t panic and start thinking cause it’s like a raw begins by small ideas then becomes a and turns in to productive, brilliant ideas and eventually you’ll want to write down them and be happy cause the best period is just starting but before we move on I want to tell you how you should behave in all of this period it includes every moment. Be outgoing strengthen your communications in your team and with other teams always listen every one always seeks more knowledge with these principles your closer for perfection then build season will be the next step.

--

--