How my programming journey began

Alexandru Rosianu
AR.Blog();
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2015

Since the day I discovered programming, it didn’t take long to say “this is it; I know what I want to do when I grow up”. But no, I didn’t wait until I grew up to try it…

The Early Days

I can still remember how I used to write VBScript files on my old Windows desktop with messages like “You’ve been infected!” and pretend they were real viruses.

I wrote my first “Hello World” program at the age of 12 when I discovered the C++ language. I was proud and amazed by my new magic power — converting code into programs. Meaningless at that time, but life-changing later on.

Then, I used my knowledge to create small scripts that would aid me in my homework at Physics. Instead of doing lots of repetitive calculations by hand, I had a C++ program do them for me. That was in the 6th grade.

Three years later, I built my first Android application for a funny weekly show with robots. You could use it to watch the episodes, download them and get notified when a new one was released. That’s how I learned Java — by diving head-first into Android.

After that, I worked on many personal projects. Some were failures, and some are still unfinished. But what I’ve learned is to have patience. Pretend you’re successful, and success will come to you.

Mantras

I think that the universe is beautiful. I like calm and peace. I’m against violence. I like inspirational quotations. I believe in pantheism. “I’m in control of what happens next” is the most recently discovered quote, and I’m following it.

Hobbies

I like swimming and waking up early in the morning. I read articles and books about self-development, psychology, and programming. I also play computer games from time to time. I’m still trying to learn how to play the electric guitar. Whenever I can, I take part in contests, conferences or hackathons.

Present

I work for an awesome startup called StarterSquad. I intend to found my own soon.

Note: this information is outdated as of January 2016.

--

--