How to prepare for IELTS

Alexandru Rosianu
AR.Blog();
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2015

Last week I received my IELTS results and they were pretty accurate in my opinion. I’m best at listening and worst at writing, which was expected. I know myself.

Here are some tips to take into consideration if you plan to take the test yourself.

Plan ahead

Let’s say you’ve got one month left until the test. Do at least one test per day, or even better, aim for at least one hour of work per day. At the end of the month, you will have worked 30 hours — enough to fill your gaps.

If you’re willing to make it more intense, try to work two hours per day or more. Everything will add up and will help you improve your English gradually. Don’t leave everything for the last week, like I did.

Use apps

Apps can make learning easier and more enjoyable. Open your App/Play/Windows Store and search for ‘IELTS’. There are apps to train your listening, reading, writing and even speaking abilities.

Some of my favourites, which I also used:

You can find more apps on British Council’s website here.

Watch tutorials on YouTube

There are lots of tutorials, tips & tricks and courses on YouTube. You might even find some recorded IELTS tests to get a feeling about the experience and what to expect.

I watched some videos the day before my test and they really helped, especially the ones with writing tips.

Do the free tests

When you sign up for the test, go to the Candidate Portal then Preparation Materials. Work everything you’re given there.

Books

I recommend you these:

I must admit that I was pretty nervous both before taking the test and when I received the results, but now when I look back I realise it was an enjoyable experience.

I’m happy that I ticked another thing off the list of things I need for my university application. Think big.

--

--