Assignment 07 — Revisiting the Benin Ha Project

Dana Floyd
3 min readApr 12, 2016

--

Last Weeks Trouble

Last Week I had trouble modeling the sketch at the above left. I am going to revisit these problems with 3 approaches: Modeling the structure as mullions on the UV grid from a surface in Revit; extending lines mapped onto surface to CPlane in Dynamo; and trimming the original surface with a new ground plane and opening planes.

  1. Modeling the structure as mullions on the UV grid from a surface in Revit

Last week I had trouble doing this because it created a double surface. I was able to solve this problem by using a curve through 3 points rather than a simple line. This resulted in the above form which goes all the way to the CPlane(ground plane) and has no opening (except bottom).

The structure is made by applying a mullion grid to the surface. A surface generated from the same curves that define the structure is made, shown below.

There are still kinks to work out with how the two surfaces relate to each other, even though they’re on the same reference curves.

2. Extending lines mapped onto surface to CPlane in Dynamo

Last week I tried to extend lines that I projected onto the surface at 45 degrees but was unsuccessful. I troubleshooted the problem (it was an issue with null items in a list) and was able to extend. I couldn’t figure out how to extrude to the CPlane so I extruded past it and tried to trim. I ran into some trouble with the trim, though. I will ask for help in class.

3. Trimming the original surface with a new ground plane and opening planes

If you think of the surface as scaleless you can start to imagine how a ground plane might intersect the surface to create a dome, and how a separate cutting plane might create the openings.

--

--