Koh tao, thailand

Simple ways to integrate the benefits of travel right at home

Carry a backpacker’s mentality 

Alex Abelin
4 min readNov 14, 2013

--

When I quit Google in April 2013 the immediate plan was to travel. Get out of dodge, or Manhattan, in my case. Untethered to a 9-5, free of any landlord’s demands, I was completely free. What a feeling…

Similarly to how I made the decision to study abroad in Florence, Italy back in 2004, I knew where I needed to go: South East Asia. Operating from the gut is best when it comes to travel decisions.

I had 31 days before I had to come back to California (Groomsmen duties). I decided to spend my days traveling through Cambodia and Thailand. A 12 hour flight from LAX, and bam, a whole new world. Modern flight never ceases to amaze me. Seriously, a flying chair?

My travels through South East Asia created memories that I’ll cherish for a lifetime. It was my first time truly traveling solo, my first time not having to take ‘vacation days,’ and my last time that I walked in my twenties. It was wonderful.

This writing piece isn’t a highlight reel of those days (though part of me wishes it were). This post is an offering to everyone at home, going about their day-to-days. From the stay-at-home-Mom to the 90-hour-a-week-investment-banker, everyone can carry at backpacker’s mentality. Below holds 7 lessons learned from free-spirited travel.

7: Eat alone.

Walk into a restaurant, and eat alone. Breathe deeply, have soft, open eyes, and a no-rush temperament. Let go of the temptation to check your phone, or use any digital device whatsoever. Just be present. On the road, the luxury of calling my friends didn’t exist. Having no choice but to eat alone smacks you refreshingly in the face and leads to lots of internal growth.

6: Wear funny stuff.

Having zero self awareness about what you wear is transformative. Sometimes while I’m traveling I like to wear a bandana. In Asia, I wore a lot of flowy elephant pants. They are the absolute jam, and I wear them more often than I’d like to admit. Put a hat on, or don’t. Wear scarves. No one cares. When you’re on the road, the expectations of others feels different. The roles we play at home can be tiring, so throw something goofy on. Be a kid again. Have some fashion fun.

5: Adventure boldly.

On the road my risk tolerance gets adjusted. Cliff jumping? Sure. Advanced Scuba training? Yes, please. Oh, and there’s whale sharks too? Awesome! When the everyday stress dissipates from the body the mind loosens up and gives the green light to have some fun and kick some ass. So, while at home, what can we do to keep that spirit alive? When I returned from an adventurous Asian journey I climbed Mt. Shasta, and ran a marathon. Apparently, skydiving is offered all over the world. Live a bold life drenched in adrenaline.

4: Read and journal.

The joy of reading. Melting into a good book without reverence to the clock. …ahhhh… It’s a rare feeling, and you know it when you got it. I love reading, and I remember how much I love it every time I travel. I give myself permission to read. This is an easy take home lesson: read more at home. When you wake up. When you go to bed. During your lunch break. Bring a freaking book with you because they are awesome and you deserve it. Journaling is also a good idea. Let’s be honest, my journal loyalty since returning to the Red, White and Blue has suffered. But I did journal everyday while backpacking, and there’s a reason it makes life-enhancing lists. It’s cathartic, it’s personal, and it’s healthy to get your thoughts down on paper. It‘s the opposite of a bag a chips; you feel great afterwards.

3: Say hello to a stranger.

This one shouldn’t be that scary, but it is. Even in the home or work elevator we sometimes avoid meeting the person right next to us. Our mind seeks a distraction, “Oh, this is a good time to check my weather app.” We’re all human, and we all love a little TLC. Smile. Did you know it takes less muscles to smile than to frown? Make eye contact. Make sincere eye contact. When we travel, especially alone, we’re so open and ready to meet new people. How fascinating are strangers, from all over the globe, in every shape and size in the store! It’s the coolest. Memories have a way of gelling when others are in them. We’re (kinda) lucky to have over 7 billion people on Earth; that means there’s billions of awesome, brilliant, beautiful, rockstar people! Let’s all say hi to the next person we see that we don’t know. A ripple effect of hellos.

2: Mind the signs.

Everything is interconnected. Sliding doors. I just missed the train, but standing next to me is the hottest girl. Or, you made the train, and the aforementioned hottie got away; you look longingly in each other’s eyes as the train departs, never to see each other again. These moments happen all the time. When we travel, our spiritual alignment is stronger and we can more easily read between the lines. Our senses are heightened. Releasing frantic day-to-day thoughts and being completely present in the moment unlocks a dimension of beauty. Everything is connected, and the magical signs and breadcrumbs of Mr. Fuddy Duddy are sprinkled everywhere.

Henry Miller said that “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” Travel’s gift is the ability to see things differently. But you don’t necessarily have to travel to receive the benefits. Play with these 7 offerings and find new destinations right at home.

1: Prioritize a 2014 dream travel adventure.

--

--

Alex Abelin

Believes: in the timing of life. Currently: @verizon Previously: @lqdwifi @liquidtalent @google @ucberkeley Social: @alexabelin Motto: #AdventureAwaits