Defending The American Eclipse Apocalypse

My semi-viral TikTok about the end of the world.

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”

--

Photo by Andre Benz on Unsplash

I keep getting TikTok views for space stuff. First was my viral post about Frank Rubio and the space tomato, and now: Eclipse apocalypse.

In this video, my intention was to make fun of the illogical idea that the eclipse could mean the rapture because the eclipse is happening in a small part of the world.

If the rapture would have happened during the eclipse, would everyone be raptured, including those who didn’t see it? Or would they have to wait for their own eclipse? Could you follow raptures like the McRib?

I didn’t think the world would end during the eclipse. And I kind of thought maybe some religious people would be offended (actually, no, I thought I would get 200 views and that’s it, and didn’t think I’d get 300k views), but the American exceptionalism is on full display.

Some comments exude notes of “how dare you, a brown, try to take the American rapture away from us!” which is not where I was going with this at all.

--

--

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”

A remote working Latina. Storytelling is a calling. Read, support, and more here: https://linktr.ee/lisathewriter