I’m not going to have kids just because Bill Gates doesn’t want me to.

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”
3 min readApr 7, 2024

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Childfree women have to hear a lot of BS…hell, even women with kids who support choice have to hear a lot of BS.

We have to hear how selfish and unnatural we are, how we will regret it, how our lives have no purpose, etc.

And there’s a small subset of people who believe we should have babies because us not wanting babies is part of a conspiracy.

I guess because he helped fund the Covid vaccine, Bill Gates comes up a lot in these conspiracies. And there are people out there on the interwebs who believe I should have kids because Bill Gates doesn’t want me to. It’s all part of a population control conspiracy.

Except I’ve never wanted kids, way back as far as I can remember. Was Bill Gates thinking about my uterus when I was four years old and telling people I didn’t want to be a mommy? Strange, I would have thought that back in the 80s and 90s, Gates had other things to tend to. I mean, that’s when he made the switch from millionaire to billionaire, so was he engaged in global conspiracies just yet?

This is, of course, all ridiculous. I don’t think Bill Gates is part of a population control conspiracy. But even if he was, I wouldn’t care. I still don’t want to have kids.

--

--

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”

A remote working Latina. Storytelling is a calling. Read, support, and more here: https://linktr.ee/lisathewriter