I’m Single, Not Available.

Before you ask.

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”

--

33 in a Miami Airbnb with an old phone ❤

You asked if I was single. And if by “single” you mean unmarried, then I’m single. If by “single” you mean “don’t have a boyfriend”, then I’m single.

But I hesitate to answer the question because well, it feels overly personal. Why are you demanding this information to begin with? And also: Because if I do say I’m single, it’s basically an invitation to be harassed.

Many times, I have simply said I was not single. This was how I got out of this situation. I don’t want to lie…I really don’t. But I also don’t want to be subjected to pleading, begging, offers, and insults. I don’t want to be asked badgering questions, and I don’t want to have to listen to your compliments which will later become judgments. It will go something like this:

You’re single? Why is that? I bet lots of guys ask you out.

I’m not like those other guys. You were right to turn them down. But I’m different.

Why won’t you give me a chance? Do you want to die alone?

This is why you’re all alone. You’re not all that, anyway.

This roller coaster of a journey has little to nothing to do with me, a person who never volunteered my relationship status, who never pretended to want something more with you. It’s weird watching men go on…

--

--

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”

A remote working Latina. Storytelling is a calling. Read, support, and more here: https://linktr.ee/lisathewriter