Men on Apps Don’t Want Spontaneous. They Want Dolls.

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”
4 min readApr 9, 2021

--

“I’m ready when you are!” Photo by Sandra Gabriel on Unsplash

After reading Yael Wolfe’s article Why Do So Many Men Want a Spontaneous Partner, I felt the need to throw my two cents in…as a spontaneous woman.

I am nomadic. I work online. I make my own hours. And what’s more — I like that lifestyle. I have had offers I have turned down, because I want to maintain this freedom.

It has meant a less stable income, but I have no kids, no dependents, yet. That may change, but for now, I enjoy and genuinely want to keep the life I have worked for years to create.

I gave up a stable corporate job. I used my savings to get started. And now, I finally make somewhat of an income freelancing. It’s not a lot, and it’s been a lot of work.

I want to keep being a writer. I dislike having a boss and working in a traditional corporate structure. This means that it’s difficult for me to make a salary month after month. It’s an unpredictable life. But…I like it. I also like having the freedom to travel. I cannot travel much due to the pandemic, but I still am grateful for the flexibility of my jobs. I have more time for myself, my loved ones, exercise, and my mental health.

I’m happier now than I was, and I’m determined to keep going.

--

--

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”

A remote working Latina. Storytelling is a calling. Read, support, and more here: https://linktr.ee/lisathewriter