Yes, People Want Independent Women to Get Hurt.

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”
5 min readApr 13, 2021

--

Photo by Kevin Domfeh on Unsplash

I’ve been living as a digital nomad for almost five years now. I only take jobs I can do remotely, and after a year of trying to date, I decided to remain single.

Why? Because most of the time, the guys I date want me to settle with them, and think that since I can go anywhere in the world, I can just stay with them. It’s hard for them to consider that I’m nomadic because I want to be, and that I want a partner who values the same. Maybe it’ll be easier to find another digital nomad to date now that more jobs are remote, but I haven’t had much luck.

I’m open to it, but I also know what I want.

I have, however, noticed something very important in my years of traveling as a solo woman, especially since I was 27 when I started…you know, the age where I should be desperate to get married and have babies.

People really want independent women to get hurt.

Okay, “not all people.” Let’s get that out of the way and move on.

A lot of the women, particularly older women, think it’s great that I’m traveling while I’m young. They tell me to do it before I have kids. They tell me to do it while I’m still active and capable of climbing, hiking, and rafting. They tell me they wish they had done the same. Some even show…

--

--

Lisa Martens
“Are you okay?”

A remote working Latina. Storytelling is a calling. Read, support, and more here: https://linktr.ee/lisathewriter