A Mystery Crime Thriller

Solved in an unexpected way

Colleen Millsteed
Are You Out There
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2022

--

An old ancient book, pages yellow and stained, opened to show on the right pages is a luscious green lawn and escaping from the book, is a team of red lady bugsm on a mission in the real workd.
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Another day, another reason to want to escape reality
Through opening up the magical pages of a good book,
I find the older the writing, the better I’m able to escape
As only the best stories survive, so they’re worth a look.

This book I’ve chosen today is old, practically ancient
So I’m excited to see the adventure it will teleport me,
Will it be a world way off on another planet, possibly
Or off to a future decade or two, we will wait and see.

The book is so old that the title is no longer readable
So I carefully turn the first few yellow stained pages,
To find the title of a story that’s set in a country town
I’m engrossed as each chapter sets multiple stages.

It’s written about a small boy abducted from his home
By who, I do not yet know but I do have my suspicions,
Could it be by his father, or someone wanting a child
Or a spur of the moment, due to the right conditions?

--

--

Colleen Millsteed
Are You Out There

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.