Diary of An Ordinary Woman

Past Experiences | Ethnicity

Saba Haider
Are You Out There

--

Photo by Elana Selvig on Unsplash

It has always made me question my agility whenever I am struck by the question, “how long have you been married?” or “how long have you been living in Canada?” For some people, answering that question might be a pleasant experience, but I for one have felt differently. Whenever someone asks me this question, I start to get flashbacks of my past. My whole life passes through my eyes in a flash, and I start to wonder; is this what people experience right before they die? Just like Kevin Spacey in the movie “American Beauty” (1999) experiences before his death. Just when he was about to die, all of his memories flashed before his eyes .

Photo by Kevin Luke on Unsplash

The Question

Once again, someone asked me about the time period of my marriage. I took a long pause and sighed. I gathered all my courage to answer the question. The expression on the person’s face revealed that my answer took him by surprise. He looked rather skeptical. For a moment, he seemed to have doubts about my sanity. He asked me, “how long have you been married?” I answered, “what should I say? I have lived many lives in my lifetime.” He didn’t seem to perceive my answer. He said, “what…

--

--

Saba Haider
Are You Out There

I love poetry. I write about love, nature, women, mental health, education and anything that intrigues me. I am an educator. Email: majdasaba6@gmail.com