Foolish

A poem about a bad break up.

Claudia Koomson
Are You Out There
2 min readJul 3, 2022

--

A man and a camera/Claudia Koomson

There was a time when I could only look at your photos.
But then I remembered how you hurt me.
How you left after you promised to never to desert me.
And all I have left are these still images of what we used to be.

So, paint a picture.
Of you, of me, of us.
Of my love-mistaken heart and your gut filled with lust.
When you promised me that it was you, I could trust.

But when mommy said nothing ever lasts forever so don’t ever believe your lies,
I laughed because, when I looked at you, all I could ever see was forever in your eyes.
But that was bullshit and out of the bull’s pit,
I picked up pieces of my heart that you stepped on.
Pieces torn apart after I realized you were gone.

So, with my eyes wide open, I sleep with a broken heart.
And it’s funny because I knew this love thing wouldn’t work from the start.
But foolish me.
I still held on to empty dreams thinking you would change for me.
Held on to dreams of us because that’s how it was supposed to be.

So, just call me foolish because I feel foolish
and it feels like you’re killing me.
No, it feels like you murdered me and left no remains for those who would search for me.
Snatched away my soul and dignity as if it were yours to keep.

So, I close my heart just to replace the pain in me.
To make it all better but you cut me so deep.
Please, you have no idea how much I bled for you.
Just how many tears I shed for you!

So, now I’m empty.
My veins pump blood of hate for, ever falling for you,
and hate for every other man that tries to rise after you.

So, I throw away the key while I lock my heart in the darkness.
Fearing nothing but to ever again feel like this.
I’m cold.
I’m heartless.

Yet, I still love you.
My thrown away heart still beats in the dark for you.
So just call me foolish because I feel foolish.

--

--

Claudia Koomson
Are You Out There

I am a writer looking to build my portfolio in these topics: poetry 📝 yoga 🧘🏽‍♀️ travel 🧳