From Tormented to Rescued to Princess

This is my life

Colleen Millsteed
Are You Out There
Published in
7 min readJul 9, 2023

--

A headshot of my champagne coloured kitten with her big beautiful eyes.
Image courtesy of the Author

Hello world, I see you were introduced to my big grumpy brother yesterday and today my Mum said I could have my turn to tell my story.

So here I am!

My name is Grizabella and I was born on 3 August 2018. I know, I know, I’m still a baby compared to big brother, Peach.

Photo courtesy of the Author

My life as a tiny kitten is not one I like to think about if I can help it. I wasn’t treated kindly, in fact, I was horribly tormented and when they’d finished having their fun, I was thrown into a dumpster to perish.

Luckily some kind hooman found me and rescued me. They took me to the rescue shelter and I was nursed back to good health.

As you can imagine though, I didn’t like hoomans. I believed they were all as cruel as my original tormenters, but thankfully I was soon shown this was not the case.

The rescue shelter named me Dumpling, because I was found in a dumpster. I didn’t like that name or that memory, so I was thankful when my Mum changed it.

So how was it I met my beautiful Mum?

--

--

Colleen Millsteed
Are You Out There

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.