When I was a child

Gayathri PG
Are You Out There
Published in
Mar 30, 2024
Speed-written poem written to the prompt ‘When I was a child’. Photo by Jeremy McKnight on Unsplash

When I was a child, I used to make my own theories.
And believe in them, too.
I learnt about rain and the water cycle at school,
And I kept buckets of water out for the sun to drink.
I told everyone, that way we get more rain.

When I was a child, I used to play the kingmaker.
And believe in my role, too.
I used to sit and watch the ants go on about their lives,
And dictate how things should go on in their colony.
I told everyone, I could change their destinies.

And here I am today.
Knowing that the theories of my childhood were foolish,
And that the ants did not care a hoot.
I laugh at those theories and ideas of my childhood,
Yet continue to make the adult versions of the same.

--

--

Gayathri PG
Are You Out There

Human. Collector of thoughts and memories. Creature of habit. Speaks needlessly about self.