Ignacio J. Esteban
3 min readJul 17, 2024

How I went from an ATF undercover agent to a prolific writer and podcaster

I spent my career in federal law enforcement from the mid-nineties to 2021 arresting the most dangerous repeat violent offenders, gang members, armed drug dealers, home invaders and other violent criminals. During my time with U.S. Customs in Miami, I made numerous large cocaine and heroin seizures dealing with mules from Colombia and large amounts of cocaine being smuggled in flowers, fish and other commodities from Latin America. During the nineties, Miami International Airport and Seaport was the hub for drug smuggling and being on the elite Contraband Enforcement Team (CET) I was part of some of the largest drug seizures in the country.

In 2000, I was picked up by ATF and worked in the Tampa Field Division for twelve years and later the Miami Field Division. I developed a knack for undercover work and learned a lot from other undercover agents in my office. I let my hair grow out to the middle of my back, had a long beard and was good at doing Spanish accents while communicating with the targets. My success rate was close to 100 percent with arrests and convictions and none of these violent criminals ever perceived me as law enforcement while working undercover. After a completion of a long investigation, it was gratifying being the case agent and undercover and seeing these cases completed to the end. The average defendant received from 15 to 30 years and some even life. A career criminal with a gun or even ammunition once convicted would receive a minimum/mandatory 15 years in the federal system by a district judge.

In 2019, I promoted to ATF Headquarters working directly with the number one in command of the Central Field Divisions while assisting with monthly briefings to the director of ATF. I retired in the summer of 2021 ending my twenty-six years in federal law enforcement.

After taking a summer vacation with my family driving to Niagara Falls, Chicago and concluding in Mount Rushmore, the Badlands and Black Hill Mountains in South Dakota, we returned home where I started writing more about current events and politics. I published my first books in December 2021 about why communist China should not be hosting the Winter Games in Beijing in 2022 and about the failed ATF operations dubbed “Fast and Furious’ letting guns “walk” to the Mexican drug cartels that should have been seized in the United States.

In 2022, I wrote and published 50 books including my autobiography ATF Undercover detailing my dangerous cases and my life during that time. I became a prolific writer with close to eighty books published on Amazon and have done over 300 shows on You Tube and other social media platforms talking about true crime, law enforcement, politics and current events. I also write screenplays and want to make my life’s story into a TV series.

I have now written quite a few articles on Medium and will continue to explore other writing platforms. I encourage all writers to find their niche and develop a system that works for them. The key is consistency in writing in order to develop a good book, article or whatever you specialize in. It is important to have a passion for whatever topics you are exploring. Life is a journey, and I look forward to the next chapter in my life from ATF undercover to prolific writer and beyond.

Ignacio J. Esteban

I'm a retired ATF Special Agent with 26 years in federal law enforcement and now have become a prolific writer with close to 80 books published on Amazon.