Hɐllo — Brad Woods joins the Easy Agile team

Brad Woods
Easy Agile
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2019

Brad Woods joined the Easy Agile team in March. With his addition the team now numbers eight. We are constantly growing to respond to the needs of our customers, now over 1,700 globally.

Brad has given a few talks at our local Siligong.JS meetup:

And he has had an unusual journey to the world of software engineering. Learn more below.

— Nick Muldoon, Co-CEO, Easy Agile

My life to date (minus school).

SOLDIER (3 years)

Enlisted into the Army & started basic training on the 25th Feb 2003. After basic, I was transferred to a communications training barracks in Melbourne. After training I was posted to my unit, 145th Signal Squadron, Holsworthy Barrack, Sydney.

PROS: Received training that could not be obtained anywhere else.

CONS: 2 shoulder operations and around 24 months of physical therapy.

1 THING I LEARNED: Grit.

UNI STUDENT (8 years)

From 2006 I enrolled in Mechatronic engineering at UoW and accepted an engineering cadetship @ BlueScope Steel.

PROS: I’d never had more fun.

CONS: Lack of sleep caught up with me & I ended up in hospital with Glandular Fever. Fatigue followed on from that and 8 years later I’m still taking medication. I lost interest with my job and decided to take the opportunity / make a rash decision to change my degree to Primary Education.

1 THING I LEARNED: How to have fun.

TEACHER (2 years)

After completing my degree I spent a year teaching casually at different schools in Wollongong & Sydney. Then a year at a school in London. I began automating parts of my job by developing web apps. After completing my 1st web app (a simple math game) it was obvious to me that designing & developing was the career I wanted. When I got back to Australia I went to an iAccelerate meetup & that’s when I transitioned from teaching to developing full-time.

PROS: Seeing what a classroom is like from the other side of the desk.

CONS: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-09-18/students-lowest-atar-scores-teaching-degree-offers-secret-report/10200666

1 THING I LEARNED: Communication.

DEVELOPER (3+ years)

Throughout my time as a developer, I’ve worked for 6 start-ups (including my own) & traveled from Wollongong to Sydney, California, Byron Bay & now returning to Wollongong. I am still as passionate as ever about the work.

PROS: Doing something I’m passionate about.

CONS: ??

1 THING I LEARNED: How to solve problems.

--

--