AVI GOLDEN: APHASIA AND EDUCATING OTHERS ON ITS IMPACT ON ONE’S LIFE

Narmeen Shigri
ARISE Impact
Published in
3 min readApr 14, 2018

Avi Golden, a practicing EMT holds a bachelor of Science in Biology. Avi has extensive experience as a practicing paramedic both in the US and Israel. Avi’s first stroke in the year 2007, changed his life completely and resulted in Aphasia, the loss of ability to express and understand speech. He now works towards creating awareness about aphasia, globally.

Despite the challenges with the condition, he gradually started to learn to communicate as best as possible. He recalls his journey in an article:

“Everybody went to the hospital to visit me. At first, I was anxious, would I ever come out of this? Was this my life now? I was nervous that I could no longer pursue my dream of becoming a doctor. But then, I found the strength to keep going.

I decided that I had no choice but to get better.

In the year 2007, the only word I was able to speak was “Michael.” I have no idea why this word was exclusive to my brain.

A lot of people who have aphasia can only communicate in one word. This is relatively common. It’s ironic that I was diagnosed with this condition, considering that I had studied it myself as a paramedic.”

Avi’s remarkable passion towards living life ensures that he doesn’t let any obstacles come his way. He still works and volunteers in various organizations, advocating for those living with aphasia helping others to understand this particular condition. He believes that aphasia hasn’t brought fundamental changes in his life but instead made him eager to help others in need and stay committed to his job as a paramedic. He has always enjoyed sports, being social and being compassionate towards others. These qualities have clearly impacted his journey in helping others around him.

Avi Golden has become a predominant motivational speaker and his
endless work for the people with similar conditions has positively impacted the lives of many. On April 13th 2018, ARISE Impact collaborated with Avi for a live Facebook Q&A session, where the viewers were able to ask questions, get to know about Avi’s aphasia advocacy efforts and be a part of his journey. During the one-hour event, Avi spoke about pursuing his dreams of going to medical school, remarkable individuals he has met and his love for airplanes and helicopters. When asked what keeps him motivated to get up each morning, he credited his willpower and passion towards learning as the main contributors. Promoting sports for individuals with disabilities is near and dear to Avi’s heart and he excitedly named scuba diving as one of his favorite activities.

If you missed the chance to watch Avi Live on Facebook, you can access it through this link.

You can follow Avi and his advocacy efforts here.

Reference links:

http://www.strokenetwork.org/newsletter/stories/agolden.htm

http://stigmafighters.com/stigma-fighters-avi-golden/

--

--