Meet Avril, team coordinator at Arkafort

Elaine Falzon
Arkafort
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2021
Avril Fenech — picture by Elisa von Brockdorff

What is your role at Arkafort?

I am one of the team coordinators and a backend developer. My main role is to develop and implement the backend part of a software. This is the part which handles the logic and functionalities which are later integrated with the user interface. Apart from the daily software development, I am also responsible for managing and scheduling all of our division’s projects including our biggest project, Arkafort Cloud. Together with my team, I make sure that all projects are meeting clients’ expectations and that they are delivered on time.

How would you describe your experience at Arkafort so far?

It has been an amazing experience so far; I could not have asked for a better team. I have learned a lot during these past years, particularly at the beginning of my career when I used to work with Arkafort on a part-time level whilst completing my Bachelors Degree. I have seen the company grow significantly, and I am still amazed at all the improvements and updates that our clients and team get to experience each and every day.

What motivates you?

I am quite fascinated by the fact that I can actually build something out of nothing. The fact that you can think of any type of software, and create something out of that, possibly even something which supports your daily work and task, makes me feel good. It makes me want to keep improving my skills and to further my knowledge in order to create even more projects.

At work — Picture by Elisa von Brockdorff

What are the challenges you face?

The IT industry is constantly evolving, and the technologies we use as software developers are continuously changing. Therefore the biggest challenge that I face is having to be up to date with the latest changes, and finding the time to learn about and understand better these updates. And the main issue here is time; finding the balance between working and pausing to learn. Hopefully, one day I will find the way to manage this better :)

What do you think of the team at Arkafort, and why?

We are very close as a team. I think we all have a sound work ethic and everyone does their best on a daily basis. We are all always happy to help each other and learn from one another. I think that these are all important qualities in a team.

Which Arkafort projects would you describe as most exciting and innovative in your division?

I would definitely say our own project: Arkafort Cloud. Being part of such a project and witnessing its development is exciting. I have high expectations for this project!

Where do you see Arkafort as a company in 5 years’ time?

Well, in these past four years, I have witnessed some impressive changes and improvements. I think that in 5 years’ time the Arkafort Cloud will be more developed, and we will be offering multiple software solutions to all businesses out there!

--

--

Elaine Falzon
Arkafort
Editor for

Elaine is a freelancer, working on a number of projects which include strategies, project management and communications.