Why am I doing this?

Robert Castle
Armchair Academy Member
2 min readAug 11, 2021

I love movies. I love making them but I enjoy watching them more. To me, it is the greatest art form every created. It takes the beauty of man-made image, the expression of acting, the sound of music and so on and so forth. I think the second thing I love more is the Oscars. The Glitz, the Glamour, the Pomp and Circumstance. Honestly, I find it interesting what groups and organizations and societies deem to be the best film at that moment in time. Hell, if the Philadelphia Phillies got together every and picked their own best film of 2020, I’d read it. Deep down, I think Didi Gregorius is big fan of Mank and argued tooth and nail with Andrew Knapp’s Nomadland hype.

Another thing I love doing is calling out the perceived mistakes. I should be clear; I don’t want this blog to be me dissing on the Academy. (which has its own members that strongly disagree with what wins and gets nominated.) But sometimes, the choices made by the academy age… poorly. Like the 2011 Ceremony where The King’s Speech winning over The Social Network. But, that is for another time.

I should just make clear, these opinions are my own. Clearly, my opinion is not the right one. I imagine I’m going to get some flak for saying that Bob Fosse deserved Best Director in 1972 for Cabaret. Editorial choices must be made, dammit, and I am the fool who will make that choice for this blog. If anyone has a solid opinion on a movie or what deserved to win what award, I’ll swallow my pride and admit when I’m wrong.

At this point, I’ve seen every Best Picture winner but I have not seen every film nominated for best picture. Over 570 films nominated for best picture over an almost 95 year period. I think in all fairness, I will do my best to see ever best picture nominee. To paraphrase Zapp Brannigan, “The spirit is willing, but the body is spongy and bruised.” I’ll make it clear if I haven’t seen every film.

Overall, I think of this blog to share my passion with others. Like any writer, I would hope that readers are entertained, and learn something new. This seems like a fun project to work on and I’m looking forward to it. I think for my first ceremony, I’m going to pick the 80th Ceremony, which honors the films released in 2007. I’ll share my reasons why in the next blog post.

--

--