2. The Breisgau Brazilians

Starting to develop a winning 442 tactic

Thomas Paine
Crujffista
3 min readApr 8, 2018

--

I didn’t consider the option to change too many players at the begin of the season, mainly for two reason:

  • keep things realistic
  • avoid squad gelling issues

I have to qualify for Europa Leage group stages so I need good team cohesion from the start, that’s why I only signed four players

The same reason is behind my choice to start with a flat 442 formation, previous manager Christian Streich build his team around that, I’m only going to make the way we play a bit more vertical with quicker transitions, but the shape will remain the same for now.

A preview of the tactic
Fluid and standard with a higher tempo, my default settings

Players Instructions

  • SK: fewer risky passes, distribute to full-back, distribute quickly
  • Fb’s: shoot less often
  • Dc’s: default settings
  • Wingers: default settings
  • CM(s): shoot less often, get further forward
  • CM(d): mark specific position (opponent amc if present)
  • DF (s): move into channels
  • AF: tackle harder

OI’s

I always use these settings, no matter the opponents tactical shape, the idea is to create a first line of pressing using forwards and wingers to put other team defensive line under pressure, this for two main reasons:

  1. Recovering dirty balls in your opponents half in dangerous positions
  2. Slowing down your opponent counter attack, allowing your team to recover a decent shape
OI’s -click to enlarge

The players I signed

I needed a creative man in the middle of the pitch with some Bundesliga experience but still young, Leverkusen had put Yurchenko on the transfer list and I snapped him at the bargain price of 1.2 M euro.

Then I wanted a technical forward capable to dribble and beat his opponent, as all my strikers possess strength, heading abilities and stamina but lack flair, so transfer-listed Goncalo Paciencia joined from Porto B team.

My other two signings were Luka Adzic, a versatile Serbian winger and Keinan Davis on loan from Aston Villa, another striker this time with an agreed price clause of 9 M.

Summer 2017 transfers, a nice profit

As promised, short posts, but stay tuned ….meanwhile be sure to check my twitter account: Armchair Gaffer for more info.

--

--

Thomas Paine
Crujffista

Football fanatic, strategy gamer, Football Manager lover and huge Juventus fan, writes about the beautiful game.