Less Really Might Be More

Does economic and technical progress bring you contentment?

Thor Holt
1 min readDec 30, 2013

Pump, pump, pump, hissssssssssss

The warm glow of the small kerosene lamp grew and lit up my family and our hippy hair, as the wind tore at the eves of the home crafted house, and the Shetland rain dripped into various buckets strategically placed to catch what the roof could not…

We had no money, no electricity, no TV, no bathroom. In fact our toilet was outside and had no running water.

And yet…

And yet, I felt so completely loved, respected and protected as a small child.

Now, we drive German cars, and have multiple Apple products, electricity flows all day, all night, and yes the toilet is indoors.

I wonder if we are more content, loved or respected.

Do you feel content?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a capitalist, I run a business and love all these luxuries, but I recognize them as just that: luxuries, not absolute rights.

--

--

Thor Holt

Confidence to speak in Public, Present, Pitch, Write. Tedx talker, on ‘Confidence’ > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UF9ZFTOwk8