1-on-1 with Joacim de Kam from Rijkswaterstaat: the Inside Rebel

Roald Tjon
Arming the Rebels in Business
6 min readApr 4, 2016
Photo: Joacim de Kam. Photography: Simone Schoutens

We believe that innovative professionals are the pioneers of the changing world. That’s why every week Professional Rebel goes in-depth with one of our favorites . This week we spoke to Joacim de Kam from Rijkswaterstaat, the Dutch governmental agency responsible for road networks and waterways.

Joacim, 31, is someone who doesn’t fit the mold, but doesn’t want to break it either. At Rijkswaterstaat he pushes his organization from the inside out by getting his colleagues to come along with him on the ride. He spoke to Roald Tjon about breaking routines and taking the wheel.

Can you tell us something about yourself?

Joacim describes his upbringing in a small town in Zeeland as simple and secure. Nowadays, he’s someone who hates mindless routine: “If everything you do is a routine then you’re trapped in them. I sometimes see that from people around me. They wake up, have a cup of coffee, go to work, do their job, get back in their car and go home to make sure there’s food on the table.’

“That’s just not my life. Every moment I want to think about what I’m doing and if it’s contributing to who I want to be.”

The Lesson: Don’t get stuck in mindless routines.

What do you do at Rijkswaterstaat?

Joacim has been with Rijkswaterstaat for the last six years with his latest role as Public Relations Manager, which involves coordinating public projects and doing stakeholder management.

Next to that, he helped set up the Fast Lane Innovation Bootcamp where six teams from Rijkwaterstaat underwent a two day training to test and speed up their ideas. The Bootcamp is also his last project at Rijkswaterstaat. He recently started a new position at Schiphol Group just this month.

What motivates you?

“I really enjoy trying to push new things in older institutions and really effecting change. It’s important to get the majority to go along with you if you want to do that. If you walk ahead on your own then you’ll stay on your own.”

The Lesson: Lead the group instead of walking alone.

Photo: Joacim loves a good metaphor. As he explains, to drive change you have to be an M&M — a shade different but in keeping with the rest. Photography: Simone Schoutens

Why did you organize the Fast Lane?

“I really want Rijkwaterstaat to be an innovative organization. So much is happening in the field of transport and mobility and I see that the organization is really struggling to deal with these new developments. It’s like they have blinders on so this is really a kick in the butt for them.’

“I also see the Fast Lane as a way to bring about change in big organizations by making sure that informal leaders can find, inspire, energize and high-five each other. They’re put in the spotlight and present themselves to their colleagues.”

What will you be doing at Schiphol?

Joacim’s new role is that of Developer at Schiphol Group: “Next to maybe developing the new terminal, I’m going to bring in a lot of my own ideas, creativity and modern solutions. I already have quite a few ideas about what I could do.”

But he does have some slight reservations: “Schiphol is a lot more progressive than anywhere I’ve ever worked, so I’m curious as to how I’m going to hold up there. Will I be able to differentiate myself from others who also really want to move forward, or will I become one of many? I think I will try to lead the way again. That’s what I always want to do.”

What’s the one thing you know now that you wish you knew six months ago?

“I wish I knew that I’m still not at the limits of what I’m allowed to do at Rijkswaterstaat. If I did, then six months ago I could’ve been where I am now.’

“We have board members at Rijkswaterstaat that are considered the big bosses that everyone looks up to, including me. I sent an email saying that I was unhappy with their commitment to the Fast Lane. I was worried that I would get an angry reaction but that didn’t happen. I think in the past I could’ve been firmer and taken more risks.”

Would you consider yourself a professional rebel?

“In my own way yes, but I get the feeling that I could still have more of an impact. I’m still a bit too goody-goody. I do try to rock the boat but I just don’t make many enemies. I’m not the classic example of a rebel. Linda Vermaat is a good example of one, considering how she started Professional Rebel with Melissa.”

What keeps you up at night?

“Next to my bed I have a notebook and pen and if I have any ideas I make sure to write them down before I fall asleep. These include the things I want to do at Schiphol and what I would do if I ever started my own company, but these haven’t gotten any further than the notebook yet.”

Which people have influenced you most?

Before joining Rijkswaterstaat Joacim did a traineeship at an electrical services company called Imtech: “Krist Dekkers is the guy who hired me for the traineeship and he always told that you have take charge of your life. ‘Take the wheel,’ he’d say, ‘and only do things you enjoy’. That’s actually what I do now. I think I only do the things I enjoy and I try to take the wheel.”

Is there something people would be surprised to know about you?

“I think I’m pretty predictable. I think people expect me to be a little different from the rest, but not too different. I’m usually pretty good at meeting people’s expectations. When people see me they think, ‘Oh he’s that kind of guy’, and usually I am.’

“There is a certain strength to being predictable though. To change from within you have to be ‘one of the guys’. When one of the guys comes along with a plan people are usually willing to give it a try.”

Any tips to other rebels out there?

“Be sure to ask a lot of questions to understand how other people and things work. You have to get it before you change it.”

The Lesson: Understand it to change it.

Professional Rebel & Joacim: We first got to know Joacim when he and his colleagues came along to a Startup Tour in Utrecht last year. Since then we’ve kept in touch with this not-so-ordinary civil servant and last month got to organize an Innovation Bootcamp for Rijkswaterstaat together.

Photo: Joacim and Rijkwaterstaat colleagues at the Fast Lane Innovation Bootcamp. Photography: Simone Schoutens.

Get in touch with Joacim: Linkedin | Twitter

Enjoyed reading this?
Follow
Arming the Rebels in Business and recommend (by clicking the ❤ button)!

--

--

Roald Tjon
Arming the Rebels in Business

Chief Reporter at Professional Rebel and editor of Arming the Rebels in Business — our publication to get you to not only think different, but do different.