1-on-1 with Mia Grosen from Comundu: the Travel Rebel

Professional Rebel
Arming the Rebels in Business
6 min readFeb 29, 2016
Mia in Jordan. Pictures courtesy of Mia Grosen.

We believe that innovative professionals are the pioneers of the changing world. That’s why every week we go in-depth with one of our favorites and pick up some lessons about what it takes to be a professional rebel. This week we spoke to Mia Grosen, co-founder of Comundu.

Backpacking for six months through South America in 2010 started 26-year-old Mia Grosen’s love affair with traveling. The Danish political science graduate turned that love into a company with Comundu — a platform connecting hostels and backpackers. She spoke to Roald Tjon about passion, flirting and business.

How did you start Comundu?

The idea came to Mia when she was working at a hostel in Istanbul during her studies: “Lots of activities can give hostels better ratings, because it’s a good way for backpackers to meet other guests. My boss told me I could organize events and get 100 per cent of the revenue, but it was really difficult to reach all the guests to let them know what was happening.’

“I saw guests sitting in the common area with their phones on Facebook and Instagram. I thought, ‘Why isn’t there a platform out there where you can connect to your hostel and the other guests?’”

She pitched the idea to her brother who has a background in entrepreneurship and launched the company in September 2014. They now work full-time for Comundu, having received multiple investments and partnering with 21 hostels in six European cities.

The Comundu app connects you to fellow travelers and lets you see what’s happening at the hostel.

Did you always want to go into business with your brother?

“Before I would definitely have said that he is probably one of the last people I would want to start a company with. There are too many complications in starting a business with a family member and we used to be very different.”

A common passion for traveling helped set the scene for a future partnership: “When I went to South America after high school, he went separately with a girlfriend at that time and we met up. We then saw the passion in each other’s eyes about this way of traveling. There was really something we could talk about and we slowly became closer after that. He ended up becoming my best friend.”

You also met your boyfriend through Comundu, how did that happen?

Mia was testing Comundu in a hostel in Bangkok when she was celebrating her 25th birthday: “The hostel threw a party for me and the day before this handsome British guy came to the hostel. I had to shoot a promo video for Comundu and asked him to be in it. We ended up spending the whole week together, but I was going back to Denmark so I didn’t think too much of it. I thought it was just a nice travel flirt.”

Three months later they ended up meeting in London and he moved to Copenhagen after another three months to be with her. He has even worked for Comundu as a content writer: “It’s a big mix in this company of brothers, boyfriends and people working together. It’s one big family company.”

The Lesson: Sometimes business and pleasure can mix — so do what feels right.

What motivates you?

“I get energy from working in an area I’m so passionate about. The people I deal with on a daily basis are travelers as well — hostel owners, managers and receptionist, they all have the same passion for traveling.’

“I think that’s one of my greatest bits of advice. You need to find the energy somewhere to work as hard as you need to in a startup. If you can find it in one of your passions and make a business out of it, that’s the greatest thing to do.”

The Lesson: Turn what makes you happy into your work.

What’s the one thing you know now that you wish you knew six months ago?

“I wish I had known where we would be today. I would have been more patient about my projects instead of being stressed about them not working straight away.’

“We are the first to come with this concept and it takes time for people to adapt to new technology and a new way of doing things. That’s not going to happen overnight. You need to be patient because no matter how fast you run, there’ll always be things around you affecting how fast things go.”

The Lesson: We’ve said it before, it’s all about the timing — sometimes you got to be fast, other times you have to be patient.

Would you consider yourself a professional rebel?

“I would because I see myself as a person that is trying change things for the better in my own life, and not only work related. If there are things I’m not happy with, I do something about it, I don’t just don’t talk about it.”

Which people have influenced you most?

“My brother. He’s inspired me most because I learned so much from what he’s doing on his side of the company. We work in different ways. I’m more creative, outgoing and social. I’m good at talking with people and getting them passionate about what we’re doing. He’s really efficient at getting the motor to run in the background. He’s just really good at running a company.’

“I think if one of us had each other’s skills it would be the full package. We compliment each other very well. It makes sure that we don’t clash, because if he was interested in the same areas as I was, I think we would disagree a lot more.”

Mia in Lisbon with Carolina (a former employee at Comundu) and Lasse (her brother and business partner).

The Lesson: Find people who are good at the things you’re not.

What’s the last thing you bought for under €50?

“A flight ticket to London for €10 euros. It’s really cheap to go to London from Copenhagen. We’re working with a hostel chain in London so I’m there quite often. My boyfriend’s family is also over there so it’s often a mix of work and private.

Is there something people would be surprised to know about you?

“People get surprised about how serious our business is. I’m female, outgoing and very normal in many ways. I’m not the typical picture of a business school person in a suit.’

“When they hear that a person like me can get an investment from private investors, they get surprised. But I’m actually quite happy they do, because I think it would be great to get the word out. Normal people can do this — get big investments and make a company out of their idea.”

Any tips to other rebels out there?

“It’s very important to be at the same level as the people you’re talking to in your industry. Don’t try to put yourself above or under them. The first thing I say when I talk to hostel owners or managers is that I used to work in a hostel. I think it’s important to step into the same box as the people you’re talking to. It just makes the conversation so much easier.”

The Lesson: Find the common and equal ground.

In Budapest, one of six European cities where Comundu is working with hostels.

Professional Rebel & Mia: Mia is the second Danish entrepreneur to feature on our blog after the first, Casper, put us in touch with her. And we’re glad he did! With an open and warm character, apparent even through a Skype chat, she’s someone who excels at business and pleasure — two things that do not need to be mutually exclusive.

Get in touch with Mia: Website | Twitter| Instagram | Linkedin

Enjoyed reading this?
Follow
Professional Rebel and recommend (by clicking the ❤ button)!

--

--