1-on-1 with Suitsupply’s Sandra Karis: the Design Rebel

Roald Tjon
Arming the Rebels in Business
6 min readApr 28, 2016
Photo: Sandra Karis. Photography: Simone Schoutens

We believe that innovative professionals are the pioneers of the changing world. That’s why every week Professional Rebel goes in-depth with one of our favorites. This week we spoke to Sandra Karis, Intrapreneur at Suitsupply, the men’s fashion brand with stores in over 12 countries.

SSandra Karis, 35, is product owner and user experience lead at Suitsupply. Although if you ask her, at heart she’s a digital designer with the freedom to kickstart the projects she sees fit. She spoke to Roald Tjon about finding balance and finding herself.

Can you tell us something about yourself?

“I’m someone who really enjoys and is very good at kickstarting new things. I’m also very bad at finishing things I’ve begun. I prefer starting something new every day.”

Sandra’s career started as graphic designer before moving on to interaction and user experience design. She now works in digital product development but says she’s still a design expert: “Design is very much in my DNA. This makes the products I create and develop better because I have a very clear vision on how products should look and behave.”

Why is design so important?

“Focusing on good design means taking your brand seriously. That’s something you need dedication for because it has to come from the inside out. Good design is not just a simple mask over your product.’

“As a product owner I try to find a balance between design and functionality. In the past I might have spent three times longer pushing for better design. Now I’ve learned that it’s ok to release something earlier without it being 100% ready, because you can learn from users who interact with your product or service.”

What do you do at Suitsupply?

Sandra started working at Suitsupply two years ago as a user experience designer. Her role quickly changed to that of an in-house intrapreneur, where she leads a team that creates new digital products and services.

“At the moment I’m busy with a recruitment platform where people get the chance to try a job for a day. It’s called ONEDAY and was founded last year. We are currently testing it with Suitsupply and onboarding new companies.”

Photo: Sandra and one of her most important possessions — her moleskine. Photography: Simone Schoutens

What is like being an intrapreneur at Suitsupply?

“There’s a big difference between being one under a die-hard entrepreneur or a big corporate. There’s a spirit and personal drive behind what an entrepreneur does. When I came to Suitsupply I had a click with [founder and CEO] Fokke de Jong and I can definitely level with him and bounce ideas off of him.’

“He always tells me to just go and do it. He’s given me incredible amounts of freedom and has confidence in what I do. I’ve been very lucky with the people I’ve gotten to work with. People like [Marketing Director] Martijn van der Zee who has also achieved so much at KLM. They’ve given me the feeling that I’m on their level and I’m really proud of that.”

Do you feel any added pressure because of the trust they have in you?

“I’m someone who can’t work without deadlines anyway. I need that added pressure. It’s a curse and a blessing at the same time.’

“I’m jealous of people who combine their careers with relationships, family, sport, healthy eating and enough sleep. A year has its ups and downs for me. Whereas last week was a bit of a dip, this week was a high again. At Suitsupply they’ve given me a coach who’s helping me to find some peace of mind and a sense of rest.”

The Lesson: Life has its ups and downs but even then peace of mind is important.

What’s the most important quality to have as an intrapreneur?

“You shouldn’t be bothered about what other people think or if they understand what you’re doing. It’s a good thing if people can’t label you. Managers shouldn’t want that and HR shouldn’t want that either. You need to be allowed to do your thing.”

The Lesson: Be willing to be misunderstood.

Would you consider yourself a professional rebel?

“I think I’m a professional rebel because I’m not easy to pigeonhole and I really just do my own thing. You have a lot of people who are linear thinkers, or who are planners and love routine. I’m just not one of them. I see patterns in a very different way.”

What’s the last thing you bought for under €50?

“A ticket for a party in the Marktkantine called Elrow. It was hilarious, with glitters, music and a great atmosphere. Just a way for me to cut loose from everything.”

And the last thing for over 100?

“A subscription to the Bootcamp Club. I’m training there twice a week with a friend of mine in the name of balance and rest. It’s also just such fun challenge.”

Photography: Simone Schoutens

Which people have influenced you most?

“My parents have always supported me in what I do and the choices I’ve made. I think I was a pretty difficult teenager but when I started my design studies I managed to find my own way. People like Martijn and Fokke have also helped me realize that I can be good at what I do just by being myself. I don’t have to pretend to be different than I am.”

Is there something people would be surprised to know about you?

“Maybe that I’m very forgetful, if I don’t write things down they disappear in a black hole. Or maybe that I don’t have an inclination to settle down. I think that’s very different to women my age. I like my life the way it is.”

Any tips to other rebels out there?

Sandra summed up her life lessons for us: “Make sure you have a sounding board. Stay away from people who suck the energy out of you. Don’t think that everyone needs to understand what you do and why. Choose the people with who you work. And most of all, stay a rebel.”

The Lesson: Stay a rebel.

Professional Rebel & Sandra: We know Sandra through Melinda Jacobs - the “genuine rebel” - who is helping Sandra with her new venture. No surprise then that halfway during the interview in Suitsupply’s pretty snazzy HQ she walked past and we got them to take a fun selfie for our Instagram. Sandra was great to speak to, just an open and confident rebel.

Get in touch with Sandra: Linkedin | Twitter | Instagram

Enjoyed reading this?
Follow
Professional Rebel and recommend (by clicking the ❤ button)!

--

--

Roald Tjon
Arming the Rebels in Business

Chief Reporter at Professional Rebel and editor of Arming the Rebels in Business — our publication to get you to not only think different, but do different.