You are not a poor lonesome cowboy.

Don’t be Lucky Luke. Be D’Artagnan.

Find your fellow business musketeers

Mats Siffels
Arming the Rebels in Business
3 min readJun 13, 2016

--

“How can I change something at my office if my fear is blocking me from starting?”

TThis is the hardest question anyone can ask me. The answer all depends on who’s asking. Often just hinting that there are other ways to approach an idea other than writing a ‘business case’ is enough to get people going. Don’t start with the hardest part, but define the smallest, cheapest and easiest step you can take to make some progress and take it.

But what if that small step still seems like a giant leap? Should that be a reason to give up on your idea and just get back to work? I hope not!

My first instincts tell me to go into bad-ass coaching mode: “Just do it man!” I’m a firm believer that you should never let fear rule your decision making. Fear is a useful signal and it will protect you from doing a lot of stupid things, but it’s also the biggest barrier standing between you and the things you want to do.

So don’t follow your fear! But that bit of advice probably won’t help you. It might even confirm the nagging voice in your head saying “You see! I can’t do this.”

And there you have it, the solution is staring your right in the face: I can’t do this, but we can. Don’t do it alone man! It’s cheesy but true.

The lonely hero-concept is awesome for comic books & movies, but in the workplace the most impact is delivered by teams. So are you feeling frightened to try new things at work? Find a buddy to walk with you! And I don’t mean a minion, but a true companion. I don’t think I would’ve gone from steady-day-job to entrepreneurship if I hadn’t found my very own.

Thumbs up for me and my business musketeer Melissa and thumbs down because one original founder of Professional Rebel was leaving the company that day.

Mats Siffels is Partner at Professional Rebel. He’s also a master in strategy and wants to share the tools and tips to help people drive change in their working and daily lives. He has a diverse group of people who inspire him including NBA coach Gregg Popovich, Grammy-nominated trumpeter Christian Scott and Italian restaurateur Massimo Bottura.

Get in touch with Mats: LinkedIn | Twitter

Enjoyed reading this?
Follow
Professional Rebel and recommend (by clicking the ❤ button)!

--

--