December

It’s only the 5th and I am ready for December to be over. As much as I love all the lights and festivities, the holiday season has alway been one of stress and anxiety for me, but not unlike the other 11 months. So in addition to the craziness of the season we get to dive deeper into JavaScript.

JavaScript is where things start to get a bit fuzzy for me. Lets just say it’s already been a struggle. As a visual learner, it takes me a minute to connect what’s going on on the screen and the notes I have taken to complete and visual web in my head. Luckily Code Academy drew out some awesome maps for me to follow and it was the flicker of light I think I needed to clear things up a bit.

I feel a bit more confident moving forward in JavaScript with these visuals for sure. The concepts are easy enough. It is all logical problem solving, but the syntax is what screws me up most of the time. I guess that’s what they say makes a good programer, the ability to speak computer in a way that is easy for humans to understand.

Also on the menu for December is game development using Unity and C#. Personally I am not a gamer so I am having to force myself to be interested, but I have learned a lot about C# and the correlations between game development and the programming skills we have learned already. Unity is the development environment we are using to learn game development right now. It looks simple enough, but learning all of the small tricks and controls is extensive for sure.

December 7th is the Hour of Code initiative we are participating in. Out of the JavaScript concepts we have learned, I am explaining the idea of conditionals. I’m confident I can manage to not screw it up. In addition to conditionals my classmates will be explaining for loops, while loops, switch statements, functions, variables, and string interpolation. All super fun stuff that hopefully will not have the kids running for the hills.

One even I am very excited for is Thursday’s Design Disruptors screening. It’s very exciting that we have the opportunity to not only veiw this documentary, but host the veiwing for Cheyenne.

--

--