Meet Anna: First Student Blog

TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND AND WHAT YOU WERE DOING PRIOR TO ARRAY.

Hi everyone! My name is Anna Jacknitsky. I’m originally from Italy, I moved to the US about 18 years ago, after marrying my husband. He was stationed in Italy with the Navy. We’ve been married for 19 years, and we have two wonderful sons. Jordan 18, and Dylan 13.

I’ve been in Wyoming since I moved to the States. I worked for a local business as a Visual Web Designer. I was laid off back in January, due to corporate restructure.

WHAT MADE YOU INTERESTED IN ATTENDING?

Since my very first HTML class, I developed a true passion for code. I love the challenges that it poses every day and I’m constantly learning something new. I always wanted to make that transition from Web Designer to Web Developer. I really enjoy the nuts and bolts of it! After finding myself at the age of 40 and having to have to decide what I wanted to do when I grow-up, I thought this might be the perfect opportunity to make my wish come true and finally make that transition.

WAS IT A DIFFICULT DECISION FOR YOU TO APPLY? WHAT MADE YOU ULTIMATELY DECIDE TO ATTEND?

It was an EXTREMELY tough decision! I still wake up in the middle of the night in cold sweats! My husband and I spent several days talking about it after meeting with Array. He saw the benefits and wonderful opportunities right away, but it’s taking me a bit longer. I will be unemployed pretty soon for the first time in 17 years. Ultimately though, I realized that this is a wonderful opportunity to get me into the career I will really enjoy. I looked into finishing my Computer Science degree and it would have taken me about 2 years, and I wouldn’t have near as much hands-on experience as I will be getting at Array. So, I decided to listen to my husband (who’s right most of the time.. but don’t tell him that!) and started my application process. Even though I’m still a little nervous, I’m confident that this is the right choice. It will be the right step to get myself into the tech industries, doing something I’m very passionate about. Also, as an added bonus, I believe a lot in positive and negative energies. Every single time I find myself at Array, speaking with ET and Josh, the positive energy is just unbelievable. Some days I feel like stopping by just to feel better!

DID YOU HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE WITH CODING OR DESIGN BEFORE ARRAY?

Yes. I got my Web Designer Certificate back in 2012 and I’ve been working as a Visual Web Designer for the past 5 years. Now I’m looking forward to be learning more about the back end, where the magic starts.

WHAT ARE YOU MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO?

I’m looking forward to be starting a new career in a field I really enjoy. “Do what you love, and you’ll never work a day in your life!”

WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS ONCE YOUR GRADUATE FROM ARRAY?

I would love to find a job as a Full Stack Front End Developer.

WHAT’S A FUN FACT ABOUT YOURSELF?

I’m a sassy little Italian, very feisty and intimidating at times, but once you get to know me, you can’t help but to like me :)

--

--