Meet Jeremiah: My First Student Blog

Jeremiah Howe
The Array School of Technology and Design
2 min readJun 15, 2017

TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND AND WHAT YOU WERE DOING PRIOR TO ARRAY.

Hey everyone! My name is Jeremiah Howe. I’m 29 and am married to my beautiful wife, Ashley. Together we have 3 amazing kids (ages 6, 4 & 2) with a 4th coming in July. I have an Associates degree in Graphic Design from Northwest College in Powell, Wyoming. Since college, I have worked as a prepress/graphic designer at print shops and a small design firm. I currently work at Cheyenne Hills Church as the Communications Director. I am very thankful for the support, flexibility, and opportunity they have given me to attend Array in order to further my education.

WHAT MADE YOU INTERESTED IN ATTENDING?

There are a lot of reasons but to keep it short, Array seemed like the best way for me to learn web development and become a more well rounded designer. I was captivated at the thought of attending when I first learned about Array a year or so ago and followed them on facebook.

WAS IT A DIFFICULT DECISION FOR YOU TO APPLY?

Well to apply, no. But the idea of actually attending if I was accepted? YES! I was (and still am) terrified but very excited about this opportunity. Trying to balance home, school, job, and welcoming another child into our family is not going to be easy (perhaps crazy), but I’m convinced this is the direction I need to pursue and so I’m going to give it everything I have.

WHAT MADE YOU ULTIMATELY DECIDE TO ATTEND?

This seemed like the best shot for me to learn web development and so I am taking the risk! If I’m at all decent after this 6-month journey it will really help me a lot at my job and my career longterm. I think it will be a great complement to my design experience and make me a better designer too.

DID YOU HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE WITH CODING OR DESIGN BEFORE ARRAY?

Very little coding (and when I say little, I mean little) but a decent amount in design.

WHAT ARE YOU MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO?

All the Paramount coffee I get to consume of course! Hah. I look forward to becoming a “virus” and having the ability to make what I see in my head a reality online through coding and design.

WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS ONCE YOUR GRADUATE FROM ARRAY?

To be an even better asset at work and see where this journey takes me!

WHAT’S A FUN FACT ABOUT YOURSELF?

I can lick my elbows!

--

--