My Final Student Blog

Kent Tlustos
The Array School of Technology and Design
4 min readApr 24, 2017

TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND AND WHAT YOU WERE DOING PRIOR TO ARRAY.

Before Array, I spent the majority of my working years in sales. I was a door-to-door Kirby vacuum salesman, a car salesman, and also sold Verizon products for Wyoming Wireless for a few years. When I was tired of the commission structure of the sales industry, I went to work for Bighorn Divide and Wyoming Railroad. The energy industry has its booms and busts of course and I wanted to find a more stable career path which led me to Array.

WHAT MADE YOU INTERESTED IN ATTENDING?

By the time that I saw an article on Array, I had been attempting to teach myself how to code and I knew that it was something that I was absolutely interested in but I needed the structured environment that a school like Array would give to truly learn all aspects of how to code.

WAS IT A DIFFICULT DECISION FOR YOU TO APPLY? WHAT MADE YOU ULTIMATELY DECIDE TO ATTEND?

It was an easy decision to apply. Making the decision to attend was the difficult part. It was extremely intimidating to make the decision to take 6 months off of work and move from Casper to Cheyenne on short notice. My girlfriend was nothing but supportive and wanted to see me doing something that I loved so that made the choice easier in the long run. I chose to attend to get a jumpstart into a great career that would be more stable than what I had been doing in the past.

DID YOU HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE WITH CODING OR DESIGN BEFORE ARRAY?

My experience with coding and design prior to Array was limited to some HTML and CSS in school and attempting to teach myself how to code for a while before I saw the article about the school.

WHAT IS AN AVERAGE DAY AT ARRAY LIKE?

An average day at Array is hard to beat! We started our days off with a Daily Download which is a good way to get the juices flowing in the morning with conversations on technology, code and design. Following that is our instruction time for the remainder of the morning. Lunch comes up next with maybe a beer or two alongside some ping pong to pass the time. The afternoons are generally geared towards project time to put into practice what we learned in the morning during class time. On Fridays, guest speakers come by and talk to us about the industry, their experiences and maybe some things to expect in the work place. It’s a great laid-back atmosphere and culture at Array.

NOW THAT YOU’RE ALMOST DONE, DO YOU FEEL THAT COMING TO ARRAY WAS A GOOD DECISION?

I am ecstatic that I attended Array. I spent a long 6 months out of the working world but that choice was worth it in the long run as I have a great opportunity in the workplace now.

WHAT WAS THE HARDEST THING ABOUT THE LAST SIX-MONTHS?

The hardest thing about the last 6 months was not having a job. I don’t think I have been without a job for 6 months since I started working as a teenager.

WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE MOMENT?

It’s hard to pin down a favorite moment but I would have to say receiving a job offer has to take the cake. It felt like validation that my choice to attend Array and my hard work all paid off in the end.

DID YOU ACCOMPLISH WHAT YOU WANTED TO GET OUT OF THE SCHOOL?

Absolutely, I developed a new skill set to go in to the industry and start working as soon as school was over.

TELL US ABOUT YOUR NEW JOB.

I am a Developer for Gannett Peak Technical Services in Cheyenne. I am currently working on a project for the Wyoming Department of Education.

ANY FINAL THOUGHTS ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE OR THE SCHOOL?

Array was an excellent opportunity for me to expand my knowledge and make a move from the energy industry in only 6 months. I wouldn’t have been able to take time off to earn a college degree so I took the leap and I couldn’t be more thrilled that I did.

IF LIFE HAD A RESET BUTTON, AND KNOWING WHAT YOU KNOW NOW, WOULD YOU DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN?

Without a doubt, attending Array was an incredible opportunity for me.

--

--