Meet Sergio | My First Student Blog

Tell us a little about your background and what you were doing prior to Array.

Prior to Array I was working for CDK Global a software company for dealerships. I traveled 100 percent Monday- Friday I was out exploring the world. Haha not much exploring when you have to travel for work it takes on whole new meaning. Being laid-off was probably one of the best things that could have happened I’m starting a new journey and my health is not deteriorating.

One of the main reasons I decide to purse a career in tech was so I could spend more time on what I like doing and that being involved in community issues. Before I decide to join the corporate world, I was in the non-profit world. The downside of working in the nonprofit sector is most of the times you are limited to what goes in your pocket. I was a high school teacher where I taught Social Justice, worked for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Colorado where I created a new program for underrepresented youth.

I believe that Array is great start to a new journey in the tech industry. This industry is evolving and I believe that it is the right time!

WHAT MADE YOU INTERESTED IN ATTENDING?

I heard about Array through Graciela Tena de Lara I had been looking at several coding schools prior to Array and show told me to look at Array. The one thing that stood out about Array is the no experience.

WAS IT A DIFFICULT DECISION FOR YOU TO APPLY? WHAT MADE YOU ULTIMATELY DECIDE TO ATTEND?

It wasn’t a difficult decision I already knew that I wanted to attend a school like Array, so when the opportunity presented itself I jumped right in. Don’t get me wrong it’s always scary doing something new especially coding.

Did you have any experience with coding or design BEFORE ARRAY?

No, I didn’t have any coding experience before Array. I have several friends who are in the tech industry so I have an idea of what coding is. I must say that after I did the exercise on Code Academy I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

What are you most looking forward to?

I’m looking forward to expanding my knowledge and make my way into the tech industry. It will be exciting to work with people from diverse backgrounds but who are also striving pursue a career in the tech industry.

What are your plans once your graduate from Array?

Once I graduate I plan to move to California and work for a company in the area. My goal is gain more experience and partner with a respectable company where I can apply skills and still expand my learning.

What’s a fun fact about yourself?

I enjoy working out and dancing!!!

--

--