My last student blog.

--

TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND AND WHAT YOU WERE DOING PRIOR TO ARRAY.

I’m from Green River, WY and moved to Laramie in 2010. I graduated from the University of Wyoming in December of 2012. While in school, I met my wife, Ericka and we got married in July of 2014. In April of 2016, we had our daughter, Emmy. I got tired of the sales game and decided change my skill-set. I saw a post on Facebook for a Meet Array event. Eric blew me away with his vision for the school. I knew that Array was right for me.

The Family

WHAT MADE YOU INTERESTED IN ATTENDING?

What drove me to Array was the ability to learn some great new skills that would help me succeed in the future.

WAS IT A DIFFICULT DECISION FOR YOU TO APPLY? WHAT MADE YOU ULTIMATELY DECIDE TO ATTEND?

Yes it was! We had to evaluate if we could make it six months with out me having a job. We decided that, with help, we were able to make it work. What made me decide to attend the school was going to the meet Array event.

DID YOU HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE WITH CODING OR DESIGN BEFORE ARRAY?

Not coding. I had learned a little bit about design in college. I had taken a few advertising classes that showed what good ads are.

WHAT IS AN AVERAGE DAY AT ARRAY LIKE?

An average day here starts off with the Daily Download. These are discussions from every day things like “What’s going on in tech today?”, or “What is a cool site you like and why?”. We also have played team building games or watched informative videos. After that, we go into that day’s instruction. Then, it’s lunch time. After lunch is a debrief of what we learned and if we need more instruction, we’ll get it. Sometimes, the second half of the day is project time. From personal portfolio stuff, to microjob stuff. Usually on Fridays, there is a guest speaker.

Josh Teaching

NOW THAT YOU’RE ALMOST DONE, DO YOU FEEL THAT COMING TO ARRAY WAS A GOOD DECISION?

Absolutely.

WHAT WAS THE HARDEST THING ABOUT THE LAST SIX-MONTHS?

The hardest thing for me was getting up and making the drive from Laramie over to Cheyenne. There were some times I thought that I wouldn’t make it.

WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE MOMENT?

My favorite moment is when I got the phone call from my future employer offering me a job.

DID YOU ACCOMPLISH WHAT YOU WANTED TO GET OUT OF THE SCHOOL?

Yes. I feel I have the skills to take me in to the future.

TELL US ABOUT YOUR NEW JOB.

I am the new Full Stack Web Developer at The BARK Firm. It is a marketing agency located in Casper. I won’t be moving to Casper though. It is a remote job, I can work any where I want.

The BARK Firm

ANY FINAL THOUGHTS ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE OR THE SCHOOL?

Yes. Don’t be afraid to take the leap. This school is a great resource for knowledge as well as helping you find the job you want.

IF LIFE HAD A RESET BUTTON, AND KNOWING WHAT YOU KNOW NOW, WOULD YOU DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN?

Yes.

--

--