Top 3 pieces of advice for baby coders.

--

It has been a huge learning curve these last few days. I have begun learning Java Script! Oh boy! What have I gotten myself into? What’s a for loop? And why won’t it stop! Yes… That was me…

As I have been learning coding languages for the past few weeks, I now have some advice to share with the world. If anything, I have learned three things:

  1. Start with the Basics: vocabulary, a book for Dummies and free online resources like: w3Schools, Code Academy, Khan Academy, Modzilla, and StackOver Flow. Take one step at a time, just like building blocks. And if you can join a coding school like Array, I would do it. This is a school where there are coding experts to also teach you the basics, this also helps make the impossible plausible.
  2. Practice, Practice, Practice!: Practice makes us perfect! I recommend to attempt the examples in the resources above. The examples help to understand how the code works. I have found that when I read something, input it, and then see it in action, it tends to make more sense.
  3. Ask Questions: Ask questions online; ask your mentor(s); ask your instructor(s); ask your classmates; or anyone willing to listen and guide you in the right direction. Don’t shy aways simply because you don’t know. Keep seeking an answer until make sense.

Bottom line, don’t give up on coding! Learning coding languages takes time. If I can learn, so can you!

--

--