Week 2 Summary

Kent Tlustos
The Array School of Technology and Design
2 min readOct 18, 2016

--

Last week marked our second week at Array. It was a bigger leap into going in depth with HTML and CSS. We covered forms, tables, HTML5 animations and covered domains and Amazon Web Services to end out the week. Forms and tables were more familiar by far, in terms of syntax and general styling, than HTML5 animations. We had a group collaboration for the animations. Don and I created a stick figure who walked the plank.

HTML Stick Figure Animation

It was a very challenging animation to start ourselves off with. Figuring out the proper anchor points and animation styles to use to try to make it more realistic was far more complicated than I had initially anticipated.

One of the more exciting parts of the week was each of us getting our own web domain and using Amazon Web Services to do our hosting and such. It was extremely complicated to setup properly from the get go, but it is rewarding in the sense that I have my own website to create as I please. It will be an excellent opportunity to showcase and practice my skills as we progress through our schooling. My domain is kenttlustos.com if you would like to take a peek and see how things come along for me there. I am still extremely excited to be partaking in this course and seeing what comes along throughout the duration of our stay.

A simple flat shopping cart icon.
Flat 2D Rocket ship icon.

Today was a step in a different direction for us though. We began our training in learning the Sketch app to design our websites and logos before we dive into the actual coding portion of said sites. It is an entirely different aspect of web design and development than we have worked on, as of yet. It showcases the overall complexity and attention to deal that is required to be the best that we possibly can be. Everything has been a challenge that I am more than thrilled to continue along with while I am here! Thanks for stopping in and checking out the blog again! Please don’t hesitate to get ahold of me with any questions or feedback, I am always looking out to improve myself.

--

--