Why do I paint?

Ipshita Biswas
Art Essentials
Published in
6 min readSep 3, 2023
Image credits: https://www.pexels.com/

People who are passionate about their jobs and make real efforts to pursue a “hobby” may identify with my ideas and feelings in this article. Let’s start by eliminating the word “hobby” from the equation. We are past the point where it can be referred to as a “hobby.” I work on art far too much to consider it a “hobby.”

I paint because it allows me to express my emotions and thoughts in a visual form, transcending the limitations of language. For instance, I can depict the overwhelming joy I experience when surrounded by nature’s beauty using abstract brushstrokes and vivid colors. Additionally, painting provides me with a sense of freedom and an escape from the constraints of everyday life. It allows me to create my own world, where I can explore different ideas and experiment with various techniques. The process of painting also brings me a great sense of peace and tranquility, as I can lose myself in the flow of the brush and the colors on the canvas.

In the past, I have spoken a lot about my journey and relationship with art, but there is still a lot to explore with the passing of time. My relationship with art is something I ponder over a lot, especially because I do consciously invest time and money in it, sometimes at the expense of weekend gateways and parties.

Image credits: https://www.pexels.com/

But why do I devote my time and efforts to creating art? My day job is something I truly adore and am very enthusiastic about. I chose a career based on what I enjoy doing and can do happily for much of the day. At work, I do devote a lot of time to working on my personal development, receiving criticism, identifying areas for improvement, and making those improvements. I’m enjoying that voyage very much. I even think I can say I’m married to my job!

But what does art mean to me? What role does it play in my efforts to position myself as a successful marketing professional? When I used to give up enjoyable times during my MBA days, it made sense, but why am I willing to do that for art?

I believe that creating art is an extension of my passion for my day job. It allows me to explore my creativity in a different way and fulfill my desire for self-expression. Additionally, dedicating my time to creating art gives me a sense of fulfillment and purpose. It challenges me to continuously learn and grow as an artist, which ultimately enhances my skills in my chosen profession. Ultimately, I have found that both my day job and my artistic pursuits contribute to my overall happiness and sense of accomplishment.

Art by Ipshita Biswas
Yup, that’s my artwork!

I remember feeling the desire to recommence my artistic endeavors when I was in the 10th grade, and the first most significant exam of anyone’s life was just around the corner. The need was brought on by the regret I felt after seeing others make wonderful artwork while I had abandoned my sketchbook for the previous few years. Additionally, I think I needed a means to decompress from the tension brought on by the worry that I wouldn’t live up to people’s expectations regarding the results of my 10th board exam.

The person who helped me develop my artistic abilities in the beginning questioned me. Why would you want to resume art when you have important exams coming up? The moment that happened, I was speechless. I’ve been impulsive a lot in my life, and I thought this was one of those times. I merely wanted to. But after a few months, I had to abandon this project since I had to focus on the most important two years of my life. Due to my preparations for the 12th grade board and entrance exams, I refrained from drawing.

A few years later, during the college summer break, I returned to my hometown and saw him to show him some of the artwork I had created. After reviewing them and providing criticism, he said, “What do you want to do with this skill?” Once more, I was at a loss for words. I declared, “I believe that I adore creating portraits and would like to develop the ability to create hyper-realistic portraits. Okay, so you don’t want to do it full-time, he said. I hurriedly retorted, “Nope. He remained silent.

Art by Ipshita Biswas
That’s an work in progress…

My response remained the same throughout, even as I continued to devote more time and effort to my painting. I’m still not interested in making art my career. Yes, you can buy some of my art. I do accept commissions, yes. Yes, I do intend to take part in more significant art shows in the future. However, I have the option to decline commissions I don’t want to work on. If I wish to keep a piece of art for myself to display in an exhibition, I can decide not to sell it. When I have unfinished business one weekend, I can decide to forgo creating art. And that’s how I like it. I enjoy the freedom that comes with not relying solely on art for my livelihood. It allows me to create without the pressure of meeting deadlines or compromising my artistic vision. I can choose to pursue other interests or simply take a break whenever I feel like it. This independence ensures that my passion for painting remains pure and untethered to any external expectations. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my art with others, but ultimately, my artistic journey is guided by my own desires and personal fulfillment rather than commercial success.

I speak about my art during every job interview because I don’t want to hide an important aspect of my personality. My art reflects who I am as a person, and it is important for potential employers to understand that. By speaking about my art, I also hope to inspire others to follow their own passions and pursue their creative endeavors. Despite the risk of appearing unconventional, I believe that being true to myself is more important than conforming to societal norms or expectations of what a successful career should look like. In the end, my passion for painting will always be an integral part of my identity, and I refuse to hide that from anyone.

Image credits: https://www.pexels.com/

I doubt that working as an artist full-time will make me happy. I’m not going to be able to experiment as freely as I can now. And of course, I can’t avoid the corporate world, which I adore. While many might view my desire for a corporate career alongside my passion for painting as contradictory, I see it as the perfect balance between financial stability and personal fulfillment. The corporate world challenges me intellectually and offers a structured environment where I can further develop valuable skills. By incorporating my artistic side into my personal life, I can continue to express myself authentically and find joy in both worlds. Ultimately, it is about finding a harmonious blend of my passions rather than conforming solely to societal expectations.

But how dissimilar are business careers and artistic endeavors? Is it not true that both ultimately aid in my being more creative, focused, consistent, and confident? Indeed, a business career and artistic endeavors may seem contrasting at first glance, but they share fundamental qualities that contribute to personal growth. Both disciplines require creativity, as innovative thinking is essential in problem-solving and decision-making. Moreover, a business career teaches discipline and focus, traits that can enhance artistic pursuits by enabling time management and dedication to practicing and refining skills. Additionally, the combination of these pursuits can cultivate confidence, as success in both areas can validate one’s abilities and foster a sense of accomplishment. In essence, integrating these seemingly distinct spheres can result in a well-rounded individual who thrives in both professional and personal life.

--

--

Ipshita Biswas
Art Essentials

Loves reading, dancing, drawing and sometimes putting down thoughts into words.