Halcyon’s Aquarium

MrPounderosa
Art & Hearts
Published in
Jan 31, 2019

Nightmares, nightmares, nights terrors, scream;
Dreams, fantasies, thought bubbles, scene.
No epic highs, euphoria or false ecstacy;
Wake up, skin frozen with naught in proximity.

Wondering why extant value has so little humanity;
Broken and tired, not allowed simple sleep.
Give me a permanent, sedating IV,
I promise I’ll be happily serene.

And I can’t wait for that day to come,
Like a child eager for jungle-gym fun.

No more beck and call from endless suns,
No more pressure to sleep from nocturne crumbs.

I’d miss parts here, and some over there.
But to them I won’t be anywhere.

“A great kid, a great man, a great all ‘round being”
Doesn’t mean and never meant half a damn thing.

Not even worth a mistake of love nor hate,
Treated and tempered as though a blank slate.

Physically curious and mentally rotten,
Pain sieges both; best to be left a loss forgotten.

A tomb, a sepulchre, or fragments in the wind,
Wherever we go, I hope I don’t come back again.

--

--

MrPounderosa
Art & Hearts

If it weren’t for the… chemicals, I’d be dead.