5 Rules You’ll Need to Keep in Mind if You Want to Win in 500 Words or Less

Brian McDonough
ART + marketing
3 min readApr 26, 2018

--

We’ve all heard the question: why did the chicken cross the road, but have you ever stopped to think about the answer?

1. Get to the other side

Think back to before you first learned to ride a bike.

How did it feel?

Most of us experience anxiety when learning a new skill.

But to win we must believe we can “get to the other side.” That means doing away with possibilities. Winners believe in the inevitability of their success.

Get on the bike and ride.

2. Never commit to anything you won’t finish

Many of us live inside a constant cycle of distraction.

Training your mind to win means completing many small goals to get to one big one.

The number one confidence killer is committing to do too much

If the large goal is a chicken, the small goal is a chick.

Previously, an egg. Soon to be a chicken.

If I were to tell you I’m going to write a novel in 30 days, and I don’t meet my goal, I’ll feel weak when you ask:

“How’s that novel coming?”

But if I say, I’m going to write the first chapter of my novel by the end of the week, and I do it, the confidence I feel propels me to complete three chapters.

Then, when you ask me:

“How’s that first chapter coming?”

I’ll say:

Done, done, and done.

That’s how I completed the first draft of a dystopian comedy novel in 30 days.

3. Focus

You won’t complete anything until you see it through to completion. Focus.

4. Embody Ferocity

“You must not come lightly to the blank page.” -Stephen King

Every job, big or small, comes with its share of B.S.

Getting to the other side takes a fierce, will not be denied mindset.

There’s a cost to victory. Nothing is free. We must be willing to pay that price.

5. Celebrate even your smallest victories

One of the best things about being in a relationship is the ability to share progress over time with the person you love.

Maggie is my love. Since we met, I’ve had a front row seat to observe her many successes.

In fact, we celebrated the latest of her victories just last night–she received a new job offer yesterday–by drinking a pitcher of margaritas.

Needless to say, I’m feeling under the weather today. But take note, I’m still writing.

How?

Maggie might have had a complete meltdown if her goal was “get a better job,” but she navigated seamlessly from one small goal (go to a first interview and form a personal connection with the interviewee) to the next until she received a final offer. All told, there were more than 20 small but difficult steps.

And we celebrated each small step.

Granted, not by drinking a pitcher of margs each time, but you get the point.

Now, I’m going to celebrate the completion of this article with a bike ride.

As winners, we aren’t born lucky; we earn our stripes through relentless determination.

Are you a winner? If so, sign up for a magical and transformative newsletter brought to you by the technology company I work for, poppup, and receive free weekly personal growth advice in easy reads of 500 words or less.

Sign up now. You deserve to win.

Not convinced?

Put your toe in the water by checking out more articles like this one.

Still not convinced?

Send me a direct message with any question, and I’ll respond with an in-depth, research-supported article that includes insightful answers…all in 500 words or less.

Connect and try it out. It’s fun.

--

--