Bean There, Done That

Vickey Maverick.
ART + marketing
Published in
3 min readNov 18, 2016
Picture has been used for representational purposes only

The neighborhood coffee shop is something we more often than not take for granted, frequently using it as an alternative to the boardroom — to discuss business matters. What we fail to realize is the fact that it has its own set of targets

It may seem trivial to many.

But it has made me think.

Think hard.

It has been an unwritten rule for years. There are some things we always take for granted. When we enter a coffee shop and place an order we assume it gives us the license to spend hours in the premises discussing work, targets or life in general.

One cup of the bean-drink, and four to five hours in the coffee shop. Very convenient of course, especially if you have to discuss projects, meet deadlines or even spend some time with your friends and partners.

Nobody to disturb. Absolutely no one.

In fact there’s this example when the management of a global chain dared to remind (even if politely) few of their customers that they have been sitting for hours, and faced the wrath — with an elaborate social campaign, the twitter hashtag getting mentioned in subsequent case studies — damaging their reputation to a considerable extent.

It is sheer irony that the tag line the store uses (has always used) for promotion is… a lot can happen over coffee.

By the time public perception changed it was probably quite late. The overseas players had established themselves.

My experience is somewhat similar.

During a recent visit to a coffee shop, and having placed the order, I realized there’s no place to sit.

It was a weekend and even the seats outside the air-conditioned confines, generally empty on weekdays, were full.

Nonetheless I collected my order and began another round of scanning, hoping someone probably had a change of heart.

An attendant, who had been watching me all the while and probably empathized, offered to help.

The next thing I see is him proceeding to the table by the door and requesting the occupants if they had finished. He was polite, I must admit, but categorical at the same time.

“There’s no need to ask them, I will wait,” I volunteered. The response was a polite smile, before he turned his attention back on the two gentlemen by the door.

Such was his diligence, rather persistence, that the duo realized they had occupied the table for too long and soon left. The attendant offered me the seat and asked me if I was comfortable.

I offered a heartfelt gratitude, and praised him for the effort and persistence, considering I was resigned for a lengthy wait.

“I had to… Sir,” he explained, “otherwise they would never have left.” He proceeded to elaborate on his point.

“Sir, they come here to discuss strategies to fulfill their targets. They make one order and sit for hours without realizing that others are waiting,” he explained, adding, “It is a weekend.

“We also have targets to meet. Who will think about that?”

Even as I sat down and sipped the cappuccino the last question resonated in my mind.

How many times had I been guilty of this?

How many times before had I taken the neighborhood coffee shop for granted?

Not once before had I contemplated the plight of those working in the shop. All of a sudden the point the attendant was making seemed all the more valid.

On that occasion I quickly finished the drink and made way. And it has been that way since.

I have made it a point not to while away at any coffee shop. That weekend I had learnt a vital lesson, from an unlikely source.

--

--

Vickey Maverick.
ART + marketing

Ditch the Niche: Focused on providing insightful narratives on diverse topics like culture, health, history, slice of life, sports, travel, work, and on writing