Becoming Midwives in the Great Transition

Joe Brewer
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2017

I had the great pleasure of being interviewed by Katie Teague about the cultural evolution of humanity in these difficult times. This 3 minute video includes her beautiful photography and videography — where I explain the need for being midwives of the future for humanity.

Here are the words Katie used to describe what we created together:

Dear Amazing Humans,

I had the good fortune to sit down with change strategist and culture designer Joe Brewer a few months ago and ask him some challenging questions to help understand and articulate the context of the complex and often confusing times we are living in.

I hope to be rolling out short films (as such) taken from this and future interviews that I am beginning to view as “context conversations.” I can’t find the exact quote now but I recall reading Buckminster Fuller saying something to the effect that “a world out of context is a world in trouble.” And if we truly want to create a new future for this beautiful, troubled world then we have to understand the prevailing mindset in order shift the context. We have to employ our unique gifts and talents to becoming midwives, as Joe speaks to.

This film is blended with aerial footage from this summer in Iceland. If you’d like to see more of my photographic work that I have been focusing on (pun intended;), please check out and follow my feed on Instagram.

With Love & Gratitude,
Katie

Onward, fellow humans.

Want to support my work? Appreciate my writings? Make a contribution here.

--

--

Joe Brewer
ART + marketing

I am a change strategist working on behalf of humanity, and also a complexity researcher, cognitive scientist, and evangelist for the field of culture design.