Seattle’s Library

Breaking the norm in Photography

Nelson Lowhim
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2018

--

Once again, using Snapseed, I’ve worked on some more collages in trying to break the singular vision of normal photography (ala Hockney).

This is more experimental than anything and is also a step, I hope, in perfecting my experience map, for which I have no great final product.

Women’s March Seattle, 2018

Edit:

So I found that adobe mix can do many of these layers. So here’s the original intention. Thanks to u/MegsHusband16 for pointing the app out.

Edit2:

Aaand I’m gonna add another one. This one might violate the rules a little because I really like the top picture and here I allow it a sort of higher profile than the other ones. Does that detract too much? Remember we’re trying to move away from a brief moment from a paralyzed cyclops. Tell me what you think.

Edit 3: (last one I promise… or kinda hope). Okay so now I’m thinking that even these collages, while they move from the paralyzed cyclops for a split second only improve in a baby step here by having a bedridden cyclops looking around.

In other words the question of time isn’t completely solved here: rather it’s a question of angles. Fine but can we solve the time (maybe emotion as well?) and move to something more like experience?

Thing is changing time (lighting etc) too much can be painful and disorienting for the viewer. Is this instinct wrong or just a necessary step to wean one away from the paralyzed cyclops they’ve grown used to?

More questions. I hope you have some answers!

--

--

Nelson Lowhim
ART + marketing

Writer, Artist, Immigrant, & Veteran observing our mad dance of apes. Check out my Patreon & show some love: https://www.patreon.com/nlowhim