HIATUS.

Julien Missial
ART + marketing
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2017
Didn’t feel like creating new artwork for this article so here’s a sketch for a painting I’m never going to finish. Fitting.

Did you know that it takes about four weeks of skipping the gym to be considered out of shape? This definitely feels like the Medium-writing equivalent to that, multiplied by six months. I was surprised and delighted to see no one has unfollowed me despite not even opening this app for half of the year. So if you are reading this and following me, thanks for sticking around!

2016 was great for me and things were heating up towards the end. In December I had just published two iPhone apps in a week; I was still promoting my adult coloring book which I’ve done that March. In addition I still had time to teach myself digital painting and I had started planning for my first actual comic book collaboration with a writer I met on Reddit. This is all while working full-time as a software developer, and while somehow finding time for the gym every morning. This app also gave me incentive to document what I was doing, which in turn motivated me to do more. All of this was great momentum for the new year, and I was dead set on conquering 2017.

… What the hell happened?

To be honest I have no idea. I almost forgot I even made apps last year — Strongth Fitness was deaded altogether. I had plans to do another adult coloring book, but that fizzled out. I definitely haven’t painted much, and I felt like I’ve been ducking my writing friend about this comic. Haven’t been day trading much either. What gives?

In fairness I did get a new job and move, but it’s not like that really derailed me at all. It took me barely half a day to break my lease, pack my entire existence, and take the three and a half hour drive from Orlando to Miami. I have been at my new job for three months and it has mostly been remote work, so it’s not I’m substantially more busy than before.

Have I lost ambition? Not quite. I feel more driven than ever. Am I depressed? I have taken a bunch of those online tests and according to them I show symptoms of dysthymia. One of the main symptoms of it is a lack of interest in normal activities. Fair, but doesn’t everybody lose interest or get bored once in a while?

What if I’m just plain burnt out? I have felt like I’ve been pulled many different directions before, but I’m not sure if those feelings led to burnout. I do have many unrelated interests, and it does appear pretty scatterbrained, but up to this point I’ve felt well invested in all of them.

I’m still figuring all this out.

I have no social media. Best way to reach me is probably here or shooting me an email. Check the website for my artwork!

--

--

Julien Missial
ART + marketing

Get ‘Comics-Inspired Adult Coloring Book’ on Amazon and wherever books are sold!